UL secure comprehensive win over TUS Midwest in Fitzgibbon Cup:

By Siadbh Redmond Limerick Leader Sport

UNIVERSITY of Limerick have secured another win in group B of the Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup after a comprehensive 2-30 to 1-13 victory over TUS Midwest at the Maguire Fields this evening.

UL started the game in a blazing fashion, scoring six unanswered points in the opening minutes to put them well ahead from the start. Free-taker Gearoid O’Connor was as reliable as ever scoring four frees and two 65’s throughout.

TUS Midwest struggled to get into the game at all due to UL’s strong defence but found scores from Kyle Shelly’s frees to get their side of the scoreboard moving.

It was a dominant first-half performance from UL though with scores coming from nearly all their forwards including Adam English, Anthony Keady and Jack Leahy to keep the pressure on TUS, leaving them 0-16 to 0-07 ahead at half-time.

TUS Midwest came out rejuvenated after the break and got some quick points Shelly and Paddy Donnellan, but UL’s first-hald dominance continued on scoring eight points in the space of 10 minutes.

TUS did manage to score a goal after 44 minutes through Kian O’Kelly but UL answered back with not one but two goals from Ian Byrne and Sean O’Hanlon.

Theses goals put the nail in the coffin for TUS Midwest who could not claw back UL’s huge lead with the scoreline ending 2-30 to 1-13 in UL’s favour.

This is UL’s second win of the group games after a ruthless 3-25 to 0-14 win over ATU Galway last week, while TUS Midwest will have another chance at a victory when they host ATU Galway on Thursday, February 1 at 7:00pm.
Top Stories

Scorers – UL: Gearoid O’Connor 0-10( 0-04 free’s, 0-02 65’s), Sean O’Hanlon 1-04, Adam English 0-05, Aidan O’Connor 0-03, Ian Byrne 1-0, Brian O’Grady 0-02, Cian Galvin 0-02, Colin Coughlan, Brian O’Sullivan, Keelan Hartigan and Patrick O’Donovan 0-01 each.

Scorers TUS MIDWEST: Kyle Shelly 0-09 (0-08 frees), Eoghan Connolly 0-02, Kian O’Kelly 1-0, Paddy Donnellan and Niall O’Farrell 0-01 each.

UL: Conor Hanley Clarke (Kilmallock, Limerick), Fergal O’Connor (Effin, Limerick), Darragh Lohan (Wolfe Tone, Clare), John Conneally (Clooeny/Quin, Clare), Ross Hayes (Crusheen, Clare), Mark Fitzgerald (Passage East, Waterford), Colin Coughlan (Ballybrown, Limerick), Brian O’Grady (Kilteely/Dromkeen, Limerick), Brian O’Sullivan (Kanturk, Cork), Diarmuid Hanniffy (Oranmore Maree, Galway), Gearoid O’Connor (Moyne/Templetuohy, Tipperary), Sean O’Hanlon (Turloughmore, Galway), Adam English (Doon, Limerick), Mark Rodgers (Scarriff, Clare), Aidan O’Connor (Ballybrown, Limerick).

Subs: Cian Galvin (Clarecastle,Clare) for Conneally (Half-Time), Patrick O’Donovan(Effin, Limerick) for O’Connor (35 minutes), Ian Byrne(Glenmore, Kilkenny) for Rodgers (42 minutes), Conor Flaherty(Claregalway/Carnmore, Galway) for Coughlan (47 minutes), Keelan Hartigan (Scariff, Clare) for Hanniffy (50 minutes).

TUS MIDWEST: Enda Dunphy (St Mary’s, Tipperary), Sean Murnane (Bruff, Limerick), Darragh Casey (Granagh Ballingarry, Tipperary), Thomas Duggan (Lorena, Tipperary) Darragh Keogh (Clooney Quinn), Gearoid Ryan (Cappawhite, Tipperary), Jack McCullagh (Banglestoen Gaels, Carlow), Paddy Donnellan(Broadford, Clare), Eoghan Connolly (Cashel King Cormacs, Tipperary), Oisin Kavanagh (Broadford, Clare), Cian O’Dwyer ( Clonakenny, Tipperary), Kian O’Kelly (Kieran’s McDonaghs, Tipperary), Jack Ryan (Drom and Inch, Tipperary), Kyle Shelly (Moycarkey Borris, Tipperary), Niall O’Farrell (Broadford, Clare).

Subs: Joesph Ryan(Birr, Offaly) for Murnane (15 minutes), Paddy Morrissey(Ahane, Limerick) for Ryan (46 minutes), Michael Ryan( Murroe Boher, Limerick) for O’Dwyer (50 minutes), Philip Ganley(Cappawhite, Tipperary) for Kenneally (54 minutes).

Referee: Johnny Murphy (Limerick)