UNDER 21 HURLERS: The U-21 hurlers booked their place in the County Final after an impressive win over Mungret St. Paul’s. Our opponents were quickly into their stride and scored two points within two minutes. However, Cian Enright and Jason Gillane equalised for the ‘Well by the sixth minute. Once again, Mungret notched two quickfire points and held a 0-4 to 0-2 lead in the tenth minute. There was no sense of alarm in the Patrickswell ranks. Adam Carrig and Jason Gillane (0-2) produced a burst of three points in three minutes to send Patrickswell ahead for the first time. For the next ten minutes, the ‘Well were held scoreless while Mungret recorded three consecutive points. The pendulum had swung back in their favour. The scoreboard displayed a 0-7 to 0-5 Mungret advantage after twenty minutes.

Patrickswell needed a response to the slowdown in the scoring rate. The reaction was three unanswered points from Jason Gillane (0-2) and Josh Considine. Patrickswell now led by 0-8 to 0-7, but Mungret responded with two fresh points. On the stroke of half-time, John Kirby popped up with a point and the teams were level at 0-9 apiece.

The second half began with a Mungret point, but Patrickswell began to dominate possession and chances. Jason Gillane (0-2) and John Kirby established a 0-12 to 0-10 buffer by the 35th minute. Mungret trimmed the deficit to a single score, until Adam Carrig and Jason Gillane extended the margin to three points at 0-14 to 0-11. While Mungret registered another point, Patrickswell struck back with a salvo of points from Patrick Kirby, John Kirby and Calvin Carroll. There were ten minutes left on the stadium clock and Patrickswell had established a 0-17 to 0-12 lead. Mungret scored two points in succession, but Jason Gillane’s brace kept them at arm’s length.

At the beginning of stoppage time, Patrickswell looked comfortable at 0-19 to 0-14 ahead. Mungret threw caution to the wind and stunned the ‘Well by nabbing a goal and a point in sixty seconds. The lead was slashed to a single point (0-19 to 1-15) and there was plenty of additional time to come. Josh Considine remained composed and his point in the 63rd minute restored a two-point lead. Mungret had two options as time ran out. They could either plunder a decisive goal or grab a few late points at the referee’s discretion. As Patrickswell kept Mungret away from the goalmouth, our rivals opted for a point and regrouped to seek their equaliser. Thankfully for Patrickswell, Josh Carey struck an insurance point and ensured a battling 0-21 to 1-16 victory. On Wednesday August 19, Patrickswell meet Doon in the final at LIT Gaelic Grounds.

MINOR HURLERS: The Minor hurlers suffered defeat to Mungret St. Paul’s in their second Championship match at home. Our visitors raced into a 1-4 to 0-0 lead after just five minutes. Patrick Kirby responded with three frees in quick succession to narrow the margin to four points at 1-4 to 0-3 after ten minutes. Both sides traded two points apiece over the next five minutes to maintain the gap at 1-6 to 0-5. While Mungret accrued three points in a row, John Murphy’s team replied with four straight points from Patrick Kirby (0-3) and John Kirby. Patrickswell were within one goal in the 25th minute (1-9 to 0-9) and confidence was growing. Unfortunately, a second Mungret goal hurt the ‘Well badly. The remainder of the first half was level pegging with an exchange of three points apiece. At the whistle, Mungret led by 2-12 to 0-12.

The second half commenced with a third Mungret goal and an additional point as the visitors cemented a ten-point lead at 3-13 to 0-12. To our credit, the boys never gave up. Over the next fifteen minutes, the teams scored four points each (Patrick Kirby 0-3 and John Kirby). There was ten minutes left and our opponents were 3-17 to 0-16 ahead. A blitz of two goals and two points in three minutes from Mungret gave them an unassailable lead of 5-19 to 0-16. Patrickswell closed the game strongly and were compensated with four points. The final result was 5-21 to 0-20. The final group match is on Friday August 21 at home against Doon.

CLUB LOTTO: The Club Lotto was not won on Monday August 10. The drawn numbers were 20, 24, 25 and 28. The Bonus Number was 22. The Lucky Dip winners were €100 for Declan Tierney and €20 each for Maudie Hunt, Julie Callaghan, Jimmy McCarthy, Ed & Gerry and Margaret Hehir. The jackpot on Monday August 17 is €4,600.

CLUB LIMERICK DRAW: The fourth Club Limerick Draw for 2020 will take place on Saturday August 29 during the Live 95 Sport Programme between 10am & 11am. The Exclusive Star Prize for this draw is a luxurious 2 Ball at Adare Manor, including caddies.

If you would like to rejoin for the 4th draw, please visit