SENIOR HURLERS: Patrickswell face Adare in the Senior Hurling Championship at the Gaelic Grounds on Saturday August 31 at 6pm.

MINOR HURLERS: The Minor hurlers experienced mixed fortunes in the Premier Championship. The first match of the week was a difficult visit from parish neighbours Ballybrown. Eoin Harmon scored the first point of the match after five minutes; however Ballybrown went ahead with an immediate goal in reply. Eoin Harmon’s second point reduced the margin to a single score, but Ballybrown stepped up the tempo and secured three unanswered points. After ten minutes, the Clarina team led by 1-3 to 0-2. Eoin Harmon’s third free of the match edged the ‘Well closer, although Ballybrown shocked the home team with another quickfire goal and point. Eoin Harmon’s accuracy increased his personal tally by another two points, but Ballybrown matched John Murphy’s players stride for stride. The deficit was not impossible to overcome at 2-6 to 0-5. Unfortunately, Ballybrown completely dominated the closing stages of the first half and plundered six points without response. The half-time score was 2-12 to 0-5.

The second half started with another two Ballybrown points, before Eoin Harmon stepped in with a single response. The Ballybrown attack was relentless as they notched another four consecutive points and opened a 2-18 to 0-6. Eoin Harmon and Sam McNamara showed true grit to claim fresh points, but Ballybrown managed two points of their own. As the match entered its final quarter, the arrears were 2-20 to 0-8. Ballybrown were ruthless in the final stages of the match. Despite Eoin Harmon’s additional contribution of four points, the visitors enjoyed three goals. The final score was a 5-20 to 0-12 reverse.

Four days later, Patrickswell welcomed Garryspillane and Patrick Kirby returned to the starting line-up. The team was revitalised and immediately took charge. The ‘Well helped themselves to six unanswered points as Patrick Kirby (0-4), John Kirby and Cian Enright sparkled. The Bouncers halted the surge with two points, but they were once again on the back foot when Eoin Harmon, Cormac Kerins and Patrick Kirby increased the lead at 0-9 to 0-2. The middle segment of the first half was competitive as Patrickswell secured three points from John Kirby (0-2) and Cian Gorman to cancel out Garryspillane scores. On the 25 minute mark, the ‘Well led by 0-12 to 0-5. Patrick Kirby and Cian Enright added points, but Garryspillane were ultimately sunk by Niall Kerins’ goal and a Patrick Kirby point on the stroke of half-time. The referee blew for half-time and the home side led by 1-15 to 0-6.

The second half was an exhibition in score-taking as Patrickswell set about wiping the memory of the Ballybrown defeat. Patrick Kirby scored a goal almost immediately and this was followed by another two points from the Kirby brothers. Garryspillane countered with a point, but they were now trailing by 2-17 to 0-7. While Eoin Harmon’s point was cancelled out by Garryspillane, the ‘Well swept upfield and accumulated another four points without reply from Patrick Kirby (0-2), John Kirby and Eoin Harmon. There was fifteen minutes remaining and Patrickswell led by 2-22 to 0-8. The Bouncers’ next point was met with a salvo of eight points in five minutes from John Kirby (0-2), Sam McNamara (0-2), Eoin Harmon, Cian Enright and Shane Hannon. There was still ten minutes left and the ‘Well were cruising at 2-30 to 0-9. The pace relented somewhat and Garryspillane consoled themselves with 1-2 without reply in a five-minute burst. The match ended with points from Eoin Harmon and Cian Gorman to cap an impressive 2-32 to 1-12 win.

Patrickswell will need to beat Na Piarsiagh and hope that Ahane drop points to qualify for the semi-final.

CAMOGIE: The Junior Camogie ladies beat Doon in the first round of the County Championship.

CLUB LOTTO: Lotto results for the week ending Monday August 19 were as follows. The numbers drawn were 9, 10, 15 and 23. The Bonus was 17. There was no jackpot winner. The Lucky Dip Winners were Louise Carey €100, Mary O’Neill €50, Maeve O’Donnell €20, Clara McGann €20, Mary Punch €20, James Kelly €20 and Shirley Byrnes €20. The next draw on Monday August 26 will be held in De Bucket. The jackpot is €4,800.