SENIOR HURLERS: All roads lead to the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday October 24 at 3.45pm as Patrickswell face Kilmallock in the Senior Hurling Championship Final. Best wishes to the players and management in their quest to bring a 21st Daly Cup to Patrickswell. The match is being broadcast on TG4 and it can be followed on social media.
JUNIOR B HURLERS: Patrickswell were beaten by Na Piarsaigh in the City Championship semi-final at Caherdavin. The rate of scoring in the first quarter of the match was low. Patrickswell reached the water break at 0-4 to 0-2 ahead, with Barry Foley scoring two frees. The hosts equalised shortly after the restart with two points, but the ‘Well were 0-6 to 0-4 ahead by the 20th minute when Barry Foley secured another pair of points. At this point, Na Piarsaigh began to turn the screw and four consecutive points in four minutes gave them a 0-8 to 0-6 lead. Des Foley’s close-range goal just before the interval nudged Patrickswell ahead by a single point, but Na Piarsaigh hit the net themselves within a minute. Both sides exchanges points before the whistle and Na Piarsaigh held a 1-9 to 1-7 advantage at half-time.
Paul O’Grady scored a point at the start of the second half to trim the deficit to a single point; however Na Piarsaigh claimed their second goal and two more points to establish a 2-11 to 1-8 margin in the 40th minute. Declan O’Grady’s goal allowed Patrickswell to reach the second water break three points behind at 2-11 to 2-8. Na Piarsaigh increased their lead straight after the refreshments, but Ian Kelleher and Barry Foley shrank the arrears to two points at 2-12 to 2-10 in the 50th minute. The match was ultimately decided by a string of five Na Piarsaigh points in seven minutes as the ‘Well failed to registered. The scoreline in the 57th minute was a significant 2-17 to 2-10 deficit. The closing minutes saw three Patrickswell points (Cian O’Gorman 0-2 and Ian Kelleher) matched by a third home goal. The final score was 3-17 to 2-13. Hard luck to the players and management.
CLUB LOTTO: The Club Lotto draw on Monday October 11 was not won. The numbers drawn were 1, 11, 15 and 17. The bonus number was 4. The €100 Lucky Dip was won by Lindsey Lyons and the €20 prizes were claimed by Liz Hayes, Margaret Maune, Mary O’Riordan, Teresa Carrig and Emily McCarthy. This week’s jackpot is €9,000.
CLUB LIMERICK DRAW: October’s draw will take place on Saturday October 30 during the Live 95FM Sports Programme between 10am and 11am. If you would like to renew or update your membership, please follow the link and select “Patrickswell” as the club you wish to support and the number of draws that you wish to sign up for (there are three draws remaining). If you wish to renew through the club, please contact Seamus O’Riordan at 087-2869175.
October’s exclusive Star Prize is a two-night stay at the Fitzgerald Woodlands House Hotel & Spa, champagne in the room on arrival, dinner in Timmy Macs Bistro and monthly tempting treats for two people at Revas Spa. As always, there is the monthly cash top prize of €10,000 and 28 more cash prizes.