SENIOR HURLERS: Patrickswell produced a tactical masterclass to defeat holders Na Piarsaigh in the County Championship semi-final at the Gaelic Grounds. The opening five minutes were extremely cautious as both teams struggled to settle into the match. Kevin O’Brien and Cian Lynch scored points for the ‘Well to cancel out Na Piarsaigh’s opening two points. Aaron Gillane’s point gave Patrickswell the lead, before Kevin O’Brien’s fine goal established a 1-3 to 0-2 lead. The teams exchanged a further two points apiece (Thomas O’Brien and Patrick Kirby), before Patrick Kirby shocked the Light Blues with a second goal. Aaron Gillane added another point just before the water break to build a 2-6 to 0-4 margin. When Diarmaid Byrne’s free created a nine-point advantage, Na Piarsaigh’s first goal forced them back into the encounter at 2-7 to 1-4. The goal spurred Patrickswell into action and Aaron Gillane, Josh Considine and Diarmaid Byrnes restored the nine-point lead with eight minutes left in the first half. The Caherdavin men showed their strength with a ruthless spell of five consecutive points in six minutes before the interval. Thankfully, Jason Gillane halted the backlash with a late point. When the referee blew the half-time whistle, the deficit was slashed to five points at 2-11 to 1-9.
The second half began with Na Piarsaigh in the ascendancy. The holders scored two points in two minutes and the arrears were down to a goal. Na Piarsaigh were immediately stunned when Kevin O’Brien’s drive was stopped on the line by the goalkeeper, but Thomas O’Brien bundled the sliotar into the net from inches out. Patrickswell held a 3-11 to 1-11 lead before Na Piarsaigh responded with a point. The ‘Well remained buoyant and plundered three straight points in three minutes from Diarmaid Byrnes (0-2) and Aaron Gillane. The gap had now stretched to eight points at 3-14 to 1-12 in the 40th minute. To their credit, Na Piarsaigh chipped away at the scoreboard just before the water break and the Patrickswell lead was 3-15 to 1-15 before the final quarter.
Two points from William O’Donoghue before the 50th minute placed Patrickswell on high alert. The lead was reduced to four points. Over the next ten minutes, the teams exchanged three points apiece (Thomas O’Brien and Aaron Gillane 0-2). Na Piarsaigh could not deliver a knockout blow. At the end of normal time, Patrickswell remained ahead by four points at 3-18 to 1-20. There was still plenty of scoring in stoppage time but fortunately the majority was from the ‘Well. Aaron Gillane, John Kirby and Cian Lynch put the gloss on a deserved five-point win of 3-21 to 1-22. The next match is the County Final on Sunday October 24 at 3.45pm against Kilmallock.
JUNIOR A HURLERS: The Junior A hurlers finished their season on a high note with a comprehensive victory over Askeaton. The ‘Well raced into a five-point lead within ten minutes as Eoin Harmon (0-3) and Peter Harty (0-2) turned the screw. Askeaton halted the onslaught with a point in the 12th minute, but they were overcome by seven consecutive points in fifteen minutes (Eoin Harmon 0-4, Peter Harty 0-2 and Jamie Dillon). The scoreline was 0-12 to 0-1 when Jamie Dillon added salt to the wounds with a goal. Askeaton struck the final point of the first half as Patrickswell led comfortably by 1-12 to 0-2.
The second half was a more competitive tussle. Eoin Harmon scored the first point of the second half and Sam McNamara claimed a rebound goal from Peter Harty penalty. Patrickswell were seventeen points ahead at 2-13 to 0-2. To their credit, Askeaton rallied their troops and were rewarded with four unanswered points in ten minutes. Jonathan McMahon ended the fightback with a point just before the water break. As the last quarter commenced, Patrickswell were 2-14 to 0-6 ahead. Askeaton scored a goal and a point in succession to reduce the deficit to 2-14 to 1-7. The closing moments of the season saw the ‘Well claim three points from Peter Harty, Aaron Carmody and Sam McNamara to embellish a 2-17 to 1-7 triumph.
CLUB LOTTO: The Club Lotto draw on Monday October 4 was not won. The numbers drawn were 2, 4, 10 and 26. The bonus number was 24. The €100 Lucky Dip was won by Marie Foley and the €20 prizes were claimed by Nora O’Dea, Tara O’Connell, Nigel Carey, Kathleen Enright and Josie Foley. This week’s jackpot is €8,800.
CLUB LIMERICK DRAW: October’s draw will take place on Saturday October 30 during the Live 95FM Sports Programme between 10am and 11am. If you would like to renew or update your membership, please follow the link and select “Patrickswell” as the club you wish to support and the number of draws that you wish to sign up for (there are three draws remaining). If you wish to renew through the club, please contact Seamus O’Riordan at 087-2869175.
October’s exclusive Star Prize is a two-night stay at the Fitzgerald Woodlands House Hotel & Spa, champagne in the room on arrival, dinner in Timmy Macs Bistro and monthly tempting treats for two people at Revas Spa. As always, there is the monthly cash top prize of €10,000 and 28 more cash prizes.