SENIOR HURLERS: Patrickswell reached the quarter-final of the Championship after a late surge to overcome Adare. In the opening ten minutes, Aaron Gillane’s trio of free points ensured parity at 0-3 apiece. Patrick Kirby’s goal was followed almost immediately by another Kirby point and a score by Jack Kelleher. There were no scores for the next seven minutes, before Adare notched a point. Within moments, Jack Kelleher added two points to cement a 1-7 to 0-4 lead. The next five minutes saw an exchange of two points apiece from Mark Carmody and Jack Kelleher. Adare rattled Patrickswell with two goals in a three-minute spell to equalise at 1-9 to 2-6. Thankfully the ‘Well ended the first half with a flurry of three consecutive points (Aaron Gillane 0-2 and Kevin O’Brien). The interval score was 1-12 to 2-6.
The second half began with a slower scoring pace. Adare secured the initial two points, but these were countered by Aaron Gillane and Calvin Carroll. Patrickswell failed to score for ten minutes and Adare’s quartet of points meant that Patrickswell were 2-12 to 1-14 behind in the 52nd minute. With the threat of relegation in the air, Patrickswell rallied with seven unanswered points to overcome Adare (Jack Kelleher 0-2, Aaron Gillane 0-2, Diarmaid Byrnes, Mark Carmody and Josh Considine). The final score was 1-21 to 2-12.
JUNIOR A HURLERS: The Junior A hurlers finished the group stages with a 100% record after defeating Rathkeale. Despite conceding two points in the first minute, Pa Mann scored a goal and Josh Carey added a point. By the 15th minute, Josh Carey had added a second goal and Patrickswell led by 2-2 to 0-6. Jonathan McMahon scored three points and Eoin Harmon struck another before Rathkeale pulled back a point. By the 23rd minute, Patrickswell had a 2-6 to 0-7 lead. Rathkeale were shattered by a blitz of a goal from Kieran Long and six points. The half-time score was 3-12 to 0-7.
Rathkeale dominated the start of the second half and slashed the deficit to 3-13 to 0-13. Cian Enright and Eoin Harmon knocked over points before Kieran Long claimed his second goal. Rathkeale scored the next two points to trail by 4-15 to 0-15. Jonathan McMahon scored Patrickswell’s fifth goal and the match ended 5-18 to 0-17.
CLUB LOTTO: The Club Lotto draw on Monday September 12 was not won. The numbers drawn were 7, 10, 25 and 29. The bonus number was 4. The €100 Lucky Dip was won by Joe Lynch and the €20 prizes were claimed by Kay Allen, Joe Lynch, Julie Shanahan, Seamus Coughlan and Niall Doolin. This week’s jackpot is €18,400.