LIAM MACCARTHY HOMECOMING: The club had a great night to welcome home the Liam MacCarthy Cup. There was a huge attendance to see Cian, Aaron, Diarmaid and other Limerick players & management. The club also launched its Development Plan. There is a draw for a Toyota C-HR hybrid car, with tickets available for €20 on our website at
SENIOR HURLERS: The County Championship returns with a match against Na Piarsaigh in Kilmallock on Saturday September 3 at 6.15pm.
JUNIOR A HURLERS: Patrickswell meet Tournafulla in Ballingarry on Thursday September 1 at 6.00pm.
JUNIOR B HURLERS: The Junior B hurlers produced a late surge to defeat hosts Ballybrown in the City Championship. The early scoring was slow as Ballybrown held a 0-3 to 0-1 lead after fifteen minutes. Patrickswell went ahead with an Aidan Scanlon goal that was immediately followed by a Pa Dundon point. The scoring rate was increasing and a brace of Ballybrown points brought the sides level at 1-2 to 0-5 by the 17th minute. Aidan Scanlon’s second goal put some daylight between the teams and four points from Bryan Fitzgerald, William O’Dea and Sam McNamara (0-2) kept Patrickswell narrowly ahead at 2-6 to 0-11 at the break.
The second half began with a purple patch for Ballybrown as their haul of a goal and three points was enough to suppress Barry Foley’s point. By the 40th minute, Patrickswell were 2-7 to 1-14 behind. The next seven minutes saw a flurry of four points apiece (Barry Foley, William O’Dea and Sam McNamara 0-2) as Patrickswell stayed in contention. There were ten minutes left and the deficit remained four points at 1-18 to 2-11. Patrickswell were undaunted and rattled the hosts with four consecutive points in six minutes to equalise at 2-15 to 1-18 (two points each from Bryan Fitzgerald and Sam McNamara). There was a grandstand finale in store and the Patrickswell blitz continued. Ballybrown were prevented from scoring and placed on the back foot, while the ‘Well accrued another four unanswered points (William O’Dea, Paul O’Grady, Bryan Fitzgerald and Sam McNamara). The final result was a 2-19 to 1-18 triumph.
CLUB LOTTO: The Club Lotto draw on Monday August 22 was not won. The numbers drawn were 1, 7, 12 and 18. The bonus number was 29. The €100 Lucky Dip was won by Jimmy Cleary and the €20 prizes were claimed by Robert Graham, Claire Ahern, Kiera Quinn, Leona O’Reilly and Shauna Gavin. This week’s jackpot is €17,800.