Mungret St. Pauls 4-17 Ballybrown 1-14
Our second group game of the U-21 championship took place in NaPiarsaigh on Saturday 8th February against the old neighbours Ballybrown. Conditions were very windy for both players and spectators. Playing with the wind in the first half Mungret St. Paul’s opened up a lead with Paul O’Brien very assured on the frees and Liam Lynch and David Bridgeman contributing with points from play. Pick of the scores in the opening exchanges was a Paul O’Brien point from a sideline from quite a distance out. Ballybrown remained close, picking off a few scores from sloppy frees conceded. Barry Duff had a storming game making his u21 championship debut, if he ran in the election today he would have cleaned up even popping up in the Ballybrown half and putting the ball over the bar. The decisive scores in the first half were two goals, Paul O’Brien with the first and Liam Harrington just about with the second. Half time score 2-10 to 0-6.
If the first half was Barry Duff’s time to shine, then it was Mungret St. Paul’s bear in the square, Chams Jagana that took the game by the scruff of the neck in second. As expected playing with the wind Ballybrown picked off points from play with some fine stick work. Louis Dee managed good distance on his puckouts and time after time the big man from Senegal, Chams put his hand up and won possession for his team with Ballybrown fouling him on a number of occasions and Paul O’Brien continuing his accuracy from frees. A goal from Ballybrown early in the second from a well taken free made the second half a tighter affair. Mungret St. Paul’s produced two goals of their own in the second half with a fine finish from Liam Lynch and another scrappy finish from Liam Harrington.
Scorers: Paul O’Brien 1-9 (0-6 frees/65s, 0-1 sideline), Liam Harrington (2-1), Liam Lynch (1-2), Brian O’Meara (0-2), Kieran O’Dowd (0-1), David Bridgeman (0-1), Barry Duff (0-1).
Team: Louis Dee, Conor Lynch, Conor Hellewell, Barry Duff, Billy Molyneaux, Conor Flahive, Shane Barry (C O’Halloran 60”), Rory Duff, Kieran O’Dowd, David Bridgeman, Paul O’Brien, Brian O’Meara, Liam Harrington, Chams Jagana (D O’Hagan 63”), Liam Lynch (S Deignan 67”) Subs: Darragh O’Hagan, Darragh O’Grady, Sean Deignan, Luke Fitzgibbon, Patrick Dwane, Conor O’Halloran, Eamonn Flahive, Conor O’Malley


Anyone who is interested in taking part in senior Scór please contact Anne on 0876659817. Thank you .


The club registration is now open on Clubforce. On our website click on the club membership logo.

On Saturday 28 March 2020 the club will host a night to honour Mungret St. Pauls players who won All Ireland medals while playing for Limerick. This is expected to be a great night.

Image may contain: one or more people, people playing sports and outdoor
Boost Post
Comment as LimerickGAA