The Galbally Junior Footballers became South Junior B Champions for the first time since 1971 (played on St Patricks Day 1972) after a late penalty win over Croom in Knocklong on Monday night last. When Johnny Murphy awarded the penalty almost 6 minutes into injury time, there was a single point deficit between the teams. It was the final kick of the game in a 2-5 to 0-9. After a debriefing period Jordan Dineen got the nod to take the spot kick and calmly dispatched it to the net to secure a two point victory. Captain Jack Donovan accepted the cup on behalf of the champions. They now face Mungret in the County Quarter Final.

The team was: Ger Ryan, Johnny McCarthy, Tony Henebry, Niall Kearney, Michael Dwyer, Cathal Shanahan, Frank Cussen, John Kearns, Billy Donoghue, Shane Hanrahan (0-1), Patrick Murphy, Calum Sheehan, Fionn Flanagan, Jack Donovan (1-4), Jonathan Scully. Subs: Dylan O Shea for Jonathan Scully, Paddy Donovan for Fionn Flanagan, Conor O’Mahony for Niall Kearney, Jordan Dineen (1-0) for Shane Hanrahan, Evan Hudner, Jason Dineen, Pat Cussen Conor Henebry, Alex Finnan, Jack Hogan, Cathal Flynn, Kevin Denihan, Derrick Ryan. Management: Mike McCabe, Pat O’Byrne, Tom Davern. Physio: Ollie Griffin

The Under 17 Football team beat Monaleen to reach the County Final against Fr Caseys.

The Senior Footballers avoided the drop thanks to an impressive Relegation Final victory over Na Piarsaigh. The restoration of Gary McCarthy to the starting line-up brought an injection of passion into the team and in a comprehensive scoring performance, they beat Na Piarsaigh by 3-12 to 2-6. The most pleasing aspect was that they scored 3-11 from play.

The team was: Peter Morrissey, Peter O’Dwyer, Liam Casey, Ryan Tobin (0-1), Eoin McGrath (0-1), Jack O’Mullane, Robert Sampson, Kieran Hickey (0-3), James Ryan, Mike Donovan (1-0), Eoin O’Mahony (1-2), Ciaran Sheehan (0-1), Ger Quinlan (0-2), Jamie Morrissey (Capt)(1-2), Gary McCarthy. Sub: Josh Dineen for Gary McCarthy

The Under 21 team will play Newcastlewest, Mungret and Cappagh/Rathkeale on the 5th, 12th and 19th November.

The 2020 Under 16 team and 2021 Under 17 team have upcoming County Finals against Fr Caseys to be fixed.

The latest Split the Pot Winner was Paddy Hogan Emly with €243