Galbally Senior Footballers began the 2020 County Senior Football Championship with a 2-07 to 0-13 win over St Kieran’s at Kilmallock on Sunday night last. It was an excellent team performance with some important players absent through injury and the younger players will have benefited from the experience. The next game will be against Monaleen in a couple of week’s time. The team was: Ger Ryan, Peter O’Dwyer, Roibeard Donovan, Tony Henebry, Jacko Mullane, Liam Casey, Ciaran Sheehan, John Kearns, Mike Donovan, Jamie Morrissey, Eoin O’Mahony, James Cummins, Ger Quinlan, Cathal Shanahan, Gary McCarthy. Sub: Kieran Hickey

Galbally U16 football team played Monaleen in Monaleen in first round of the Premier U16 football championship this evening. This was a very tough game for Galbally who came out at the wrong end of a score 3-11 to 3-9. Monaleen were a big physical team with another team on the sideline.
Eoghan Beston played very well in goals pulling off some great saves. The youthful full back line of David O Mullane, Dylan Moriarty and Hugh Flanagan held firm against a big full forward line. Our half-back line of Shane Ryan, Cathal O Mahony and Bailey Ryan defended magnificently continuously
thwarting the Monaleen forwards and setting up our attacks. John English and Paddy Kennedy worked tirelessly in the middle linking defence and attack. The half forward line which included Owen O’Sullivan, Niall O’Dwyer and James O’Sullivan were met with a solid robust defence and broke this down on numerous occasions. Our inside forwards Evan O’Connor, Ben Ryan, Billy
O’Keeffe and Jamie McGrath were not rewarded for the amount of work they put in. It was end-toend football with the lead going over and back. We felt hard done at the end of the game when we were through on goal only to be called back for a free. We pointed this and the game was over.
Scorers: Owen O’Sullivan 1-4; Paddy Kennedy 1-3; Ben Ryan 1-0; Cathal O’Mahony and James O’Sullivan 0-1 each
Team : Eoghan Beston, David O’Mullane, Dylan Moriarty, Hugh Flanagan, Shane Ryan, Cathal O’ Mahony, Bailey Ryan, John English, Paddy Kennedy, Owen O’Sullivan, Niall O’Dwyer, James O’Sullivan, Evan O’Connor, Ben Ryan, Billy O’Keeffe, Jamie McGrath

The Under 12 team played Galtee Gaels on Thursday night, losing out on a scoreline of 6-8 to 3-2. Galbally never gave up and could have had a few more goals. The panel was: Fionn O’Carroll, Cathal McGuire, Bill Crawford, Ciaran Hyland, Cian Harty, Oran Sheedy, Philip Ryan, John Lees, Shane
McCarthy, Paul Fenton, Rua Flynn, Jamie O’Shea.