Under 16 Hurling Championship
Well done to the U16 hurlers who had a comprehensive win over Garryspillane at the weekend! The final score was Bruff 4-13 Garryspillane 2-13. It was a hard fought battle but Bruff prevailed in the end! Congratulations to all involved.
Intermediate Football Championship
The Intermediate Footballers played Monaleen last Sunday in the relegation semi-final. The team was Barry Manton, Graham Whelan, Brian Finn, Kevin Bonar, Andy O’ Neill, Colin Madden, Michael O’ Donnell, Bobby O’ Brien, Ryan Glynn, Anthony Barrett, Niall O’ Riordan, Anthony Neylon, Paul Browne, Sean Finn, Christopher Browne, Eric Finn, John O’ Sullivan, Gregory Dempsey, Pat O’ Neill, Michael Lundon, Killian Bennett, Darragh O’ Brien, Paudi Mulcahy, Dean Madden and Conor McEniry (injured). Two subs used. The scorers were Anthony Neylon (0-8, 0-6F), Christopher Browne (2-1, 1-0P) and Sean Finn (0-1). The final score was Bruff 3-10 Monaleen 0-10.
Minor Hurling
Our Minor Hurlers played Garryspillane on Wednesday the 9th of September in Kilbreedy in the County Quarter final. A thrilling game of hurling saw Bruff race into a 9 point lead on a scoreline of 0-11 to 0-2 after 20 minutes. The expected fightback from the Bouncers started 5 minutes before halftime with 4 unanswered points leaving the half-time score at 0-11 to 0-6. Garryspillane continued to dominate after half time and scored a vital goal to take the lead with 15 minutes to go on a score of 1-12 to 0-14. It was end to end stuff for the last 15 minutes and with some great passages of hurling and some fine scores taken by both sides our boys battled back to make it level going into injury time 1-15 to 0-18. A tense two minutes of injury time saw Bruff win a free in front of the posts and Josh Keating duly obliged giving us a one point victory. Great character shown by the Bruff team to pull the victory out of the fire. Final Score Bruff 0-19 Garryspillane 1-15. Well done lads and best of luck in the semi-final. Hard luck to Garryspillane in what was a tough defeat for them, however the sportsmanship they showed after the game was outstanding and will not be forgotten. Mentors and players came over to Bruff and offered congratulations and best wishes for the semi-final. The mantra of what happens on the field stays on the field never better illustrated. Well done Garryspillane. The Bruff Panel was Darren Naughton, John Foley, James Callinan, Daire O’ Brien, David O’Riordan, Patrick Finn, Oisin Mulqueen, Darragh Butler, Sean Murnane, Gavin Bracken, Killian Bennett, Mikey Riordan, Evan O’Neill, Josh Keating, Rory Coleman, Diarmuid Dennehy, Eoin O’Loughlin, Conor Hynes, Colm O’Loughlin, Oisin Feely, Brian Meany, Owen Meany.
There was no winner of last weeks Lotto Jackpot. The number drawn were 13, 14, 24 and 30. The Lucky Dip winners were €50 Ellie Glynn and €20 went to each of the following: Mike Kiely, Marian Brosnan, Mary Enright, Brian O’ Sullivan, Darragh Glynn, Brian Bonar, Claire & Rebecca, Finbar Hogan and Ryan Glynn. This week the Jackpot is 11,400! Thank you for your continued support