Sunday 21st was a great day for the club. The junior beaks won the county final V Bruff in Kilmallock on a scoreline of 016 to 0 11. A very strong second half display saw us come from 0 4 to 08 half time score, with powerful and committed displays from all corners of the field. Well done to Captain Dave O Flaherty and his team and the the management team of Tim O Sullivan, James O Doherty, Pat McGrath, Ken Douglas, and Brid Herbert – Fitness coach. There was great excitement and we look forward to Andrew O Gormans DVD with the wonderful tones of Seoirse Bulfin on commentary. Will be a wonderful Christmas present.
The victorious team and panel were Mikey Duggan, Aidan Gilligan, Jordan Slattery, Seamie Ryan, Simon Hennessy, Niall Moloney, Vinnie Herbert, Declan Gilligan, David O Flaherty Captain, James O Doherty, Gavin O Loughlin, Ciaran Considine, Barry O Shaughnessy, David Healy, Donnacha Leahy. Ben Soundy for Declan Gilligan, Sean Palmer for David Healy, Don O Flaherty, Tommy Lee, Richie Cooke, Mike Heffernan Eoin Quinn, Gavin Ryank Sean O Sullivan, Mark Duggan, Niall Fitzgerald, Richie Fitzgerald, Robbie O Keeffe, James Quinn, Alan Quane, Gearoid Lawlor.
After a fabulous speech by Dave O Flaherty the celebrations adjourned to Ardpatrick and on to Kilfinane after the customary cavalcade. Hon the Rockies. We are no longer the Beaks, we are the A…’s
We do it all again on Wednesday 24th when the U21’s take on neighbours Coshlea Gaels in the County A semifinal in Knocklong at 7.30. The very best of luck to captain Mikey Duggan and his team and management. We would love all our fabulous supporters to turn out again this Wednesday as you always do to shout on our lads. The link will be on facebook or text me for the link.
There was no winner of the Blackrock lotto held on Wednesday 17th. The numbers drawn were 16 20 24 29. The €40 lucky dip went to Alan Quane Promotor Brendan O Brien, and the €20’s went to Jimmy Quilty Jnr, Promotor Carmel Murphy, Cally and Anie Leane, Promotor Chrissie O Sullivan, Seamie Ryan, Promotor Carmel Murphy, Chrissie O Sullivan, Promotor Chrissie O Sullilvan. On Wednesday 24th the lotto will be in the Pavillion after the match for a jackpot of €13,00.
The nominations for the AGM have been submitted and all officers have been renominated. There are no elections for this AGM.
However there are two nominations for Presidents Breda Walsh and Breda Sheehy. Congratulations ladies.
There are 3 motions to be discussed on the night. The AGM is on the 1st December in the Parish Hall in Ardpatrick at 7pm.
If the lotto jackpot is not won on 24th November there will be bonus prizes on the lotto on the 1st December to be held in the hall in Ardpatrick after the AGM.
It is a great time to be involved with Blackrock GAA with several teams at the business end of the year. However we are still in the middle of a pandemic and we are striving to keep our community and families as safe as possible. To anyone unwell in the community currently we send our best wishes. Stay safe everyone.