U21 Football: Our U21 footballers joined with Fedamore captured the East A title for the second year running with victory in a close tussle against Oola winning out 2-6 to 0-9 on Sunday last in Cappamore GAA field. The game was played in wet and windy conditions on a decent surface for the time of year, the opening exchanges had the teams level with Jack Cross kicking an excellent point from distance. Our opponents followed up with three points from placed balls their lead could have being further but for an inspired touch on to the crossbar by full back Eoin Kloos and a smart save by keeper Thomas Myles. We needed a reply and we got one, a long ball from midfield broke inside to the alert Jack Cross and the finish was never in doubt as he slotted to the net leaving us trailing by one with twenty gone. There was only one more score in the half and it was a crucial one with our forwards recycling possession it fell to Darragh O Keefe to strike from distance and the ball ended up in the net to leave us heading into the break leading 2-1 to 0-5. Things looked positive with the swirling wind at our backs for the second half but our opponents pinned us back in the opening exchanges and the sides were level ten minutes in, we steadied the ship and got on the score board thanks to a coolly slotted free by Jason Cross. The game was up for grabs as we headed down the closing stretch and after soaking up some pressure we surged again with Daniel Owens having an inspired ten minutes kicking three fantastic points from play leaving us two points up late on. The final score of the game came deep in injury time with an excellent kicked score from Darragh O Keefe leaving us running out winners by three points in the fading light. Credit to both sides for an excellent aggressive encounter played in bleak conditions, it was a first class performance from our guys led by outstanding hard work mixed up with excellent team play in and out of possession. Captain Eoin Kloos collected the trophy and thanked Oola for a superb encounter, well done to all involved including management Joseph Teefy, Mark O Dea, Alan O Riordan, Kevin Power and first aid Kathleen Wilkinson team from Thomas Moyles, Colm O Riordan, Eoin Kloos, Jack Owens, Colin Haigney, Patrick Byrnes, Michael Martin, Darragh O Keefe (1-1), Niall Mitchell, Eoghan O Neill, Adam Shire, Daniel Owens (0-3), Jack Cross (1-1), Jason Cross (0-1), Darragh Hogan, Dylan Conway, Cian Enright, John Bourke, Hugh O Donnell.

Club Lotto and Fixtures: Lotto results 10, 16,18,22. No Jackpot Winner. Lucky dips Donal Kirby, Annette Whelan, Abbie Halpin, Aiden Lyons. Next draw in Kirby’s on Sunday night 15th December. Jackpot €4900. Thanks for your Support. Our U21s have advance to a county semi final against Bruff/Banogue please see club text and social media for further updates regarding fixture.

PHOTOGRAPH : Ballybricken/Bohermore/Fedamore Under 21 Football team that won the East ‘A’ Final on Sunday last in Cappamore

Image may contain: 22 people, people smiling, outdoor and nature