University of Limerick Freshers footballers earn historic All-Ireland league title:

By John Keogh Limerick Leader Sport

UL’S FRESHERS football side followed their hurling counterparts with a stunning win in their All-Ireland League final win over Ulster University in Abbotstown last week.

The team, managed by Oola’s John O’Grady, earned a 4-5 to 1-13 victory after extra-time to land their first ever title at this grade.

Offaly’s Marcus Dalton was the difference between the teams with a haul of 2-2, while Fionn Murphy (Kerry) and Jack Melvin (Mayo) netted the other goals. Murphy added a free with Jack Doyle (Kerry) and Aodhan O’Neill (Kerry) also chipping in with points for UL.

It was a tight opening half with UL leading by a point at the short whistle. Ulster University took control on the second half but a couple of late goals saw the game head to extra time. Two further strikes saw UL to their historic win in extra-time.

A couple of days later, UL’s Freshers seconds team also earned league glory with a 2-12 to 1-7 victory over UCC at the Mardyke.

The UL panel for the win over Ulster University was as follows: Oisin Ramsbottom (Timahoe, Laois); Jack Doyle (Na Gaeil, Kerry), Ronan Ó Beaglaoich (An Ghaeltacht, Kerry), Dan Twomey (Ballinascarthy, Cork); Fionn Murphy (Rathmore, Kerry), Charlie King (Ballina, Tipperary), Jack McElligott (Knocknagoshel, Kerry); Jack Melvin (Davitts, Mayo), Cathal Brosnan (Currow, Kerry); Josh Moloney (Kilmurr-Ibrickane, Clare), Marcus Dalton (Clare, Offaly), Eanna Rouine (Ennistymon, Clare); Thomas Curran (St Joseph’s Doora-Barefield), Art Marron (Glanmire, Cork), Aodhan O’Neill (Reenard, Kerry).

SUBS: Sean Neylon (Miltown-Malbay, Clare) for McElligott, Robbie Gallagher (Ballinagar, Offaly) for O’Neill, Fiachra Cruise (Bohola Moy Davitts, Mayo) for Marron, Jack Dunleavy (Bohola Moy Davitts, Mayo) for Roune, Eoin Barrett (Coolaney-Mullinbreena, Sligo) for Gallagher, Sean Sweeney (Parke, Mayo) for Murphy.