Limerick trio in Fitzgibbon Cup Team of the Year
Jerome O’Connell Jerome O’Connell17 Apr 2018Email:
Limerick trio in Fitzgibbon Cup Team of the Year
Gearoid Hegarty of UL and Limerick

THREE Limerick hurlers have been selected on the Fitzgibbon Cup Team of the Year.

Champions UL have seven players in the team with beaten finalists DCU getting four players on the line-up. In total there are five college sides with players honoured.

‏Selected in the Rising Stars team is Glenroe’s David McCarthy in goals, Bruff’s Sean Finn at corner back and St Patricks Gearoid Hegarty at wing back.

McCarthy was Limerick’s 2015 All Ireland U-21 winning goalkeeper.

Finn is currently corner back on John Kiely’s Limerick senior team. Gearoid Hegarty is selected at wing back on the Fitzgibbon Cup team but plays in attack with the inter-county side.

There are players from nine different counties selected – three from Limerick and Tipperary with two each from Clare and Dublin.

TEAM: David McCarthy (UL & Limerick); Conor Cleary (UL & Clare); Eoghan O’Donnell (DCU & Dublin), Sean Finn (UL & Limerick); Gearoid Hegarty (UL & Limerick), Brian Hogan (Maynooth & Tipperary), David Fitzgerald (UL & Clare); Colin Dunford (IT Carlow & Waterford), Joe O’Connor (DCU & Wexford); John Donnelly (DCU, Kilkenny), Martin Kavanagh (IT Carlow & Carlow), Donal Burke (DCU & Dublin); Niall O’brien (DIT & Westmeath), Jason Forde (UL & Tipperary), John McGrath (UL & Tipperary).