South Liberties GAA Club Notes:

All Ireland Champions:
All Ireland Champions for the 4th time in a row.
Our Parishes woke up Monday morning to a cherished reality that Limerick are All Ireland Champions for the 4th year on the trot. Barry Nash’s jersey number 4 is so significant now for South Liberties. We are so proud of his performances all year and he didn’t let us down last Sunday in Croke Park with another superb execution of defence. Our “Corner Forback” even gave us another point to prove his immense capabilities. Congratulations Barry and Limerick. 2023 Number Plates will be available to purchase in Elm Court this week.

Brian Butler Cup Final:
Our junior hurlers have reached the final of the Brian Butler after winning their three games in the competition so far.

Round 1:
South Liberties 2-19 Ballybricken 0-15
We welcomed neighbours Ballybricken to Dooley Pk in Rd1 and came out on top on a scoreline of 2-19 to 0-15. In a game we lead from start to finish a good overall team performance saw us reach the quarter final.
Scorers Barry Walsh 0-9, Shane O Neill 2-02, Shane Brosnahan 0-2, David O Neill 0-2, Sean Keane 0-2, Bill Hickey 0-1, Darragh Godfrey 0-1.

Quarter Final:
Pallasgreen 1-18 South Liberties 2-21
We made the short trip to Pallasgreen for this quarter final game and after a hard-fought game played in tricky underfoot conditions, we continued our winning streak in the competition. Down a few players due to injuries/holidays we had to dig deep into our panel and the lads that came in did an excellent job. Leading 2-13 to 1-10 at halftime we kept the score board ticking over in the second half and won out the game 2-21 to 1-18.
Scorers Dave O Neill 1-13, Shane Brosnahan 1-03, Sean Keane 0-2, Bill Hickey 0-2, Ryan Godfrey 0-1.

Semi Final:
South Liberties 2-21 Doon 0-25
After winning the coin toss for home advantage we welcomed a very good Doon side to Dooley Park for the semifinal. This turned out to be a cracking game of hurling between two evenly matched sides and after a titanic tussle we just about came out on top at the end. We started on the front foot and within 3 minutes a goal and a point from corner forward Ben Compton and a point from Dave O Neill saw us race into an early lead. Doon soon registered their first score and for the next ten minutes both sides traded scores. Unfortunately, we lost key defender Michael Meaney to a nasty injury, and we had to make some adjustments to our side. Doon soon got back on level terms but after a great move that started in defence Joe Hegarty got the finishing touch to score our second goal to see us three points up at the short whistle on a score line of 2-10 to 0-13. The first 10 minutes of the second half again saw the sides trade points and by the midway point of the second half we had increased our lead our lead to five points with scores from Dave O Neill 0-4, Shane Brosnahan 0-2 and Bill Hickey 0-1. We then lost a player to a red card and Doon seized the initiative and with ten minutes to go the game was level. Doon then had a player red carded to even up the numbers. Our lads lifted their game with fresh legs introduced we outscored Doon by four points to two in the remaining minutes with superb scores from Joe Hegarty, Jack Fitzpatrick and Darragh Godfrey. With that the final whistle blew and now we look forward to the final against Caherline.
We wish Michael Meaney a speedy recovery and hopefully it won’t be too long before Michael is back on the pitch.
Scorers Dave O Neill 0-9, Ben Compton 1-2, Shane Brosnahan 0-4, Joe Hegarty 1-1, Darragh Godfrey 0-2, Mike Keane 0-1, Jack Fitzpatrick 0-1, Bill Hickey 0-1.
Panel – Paul Butler, Ben Garry, Enda Meaney, Kieran O Brien, Michael Meaney, Ben O Donohue, Stephen Noonan, Mike Keane, Jack Fitzpatrick, Matthew Gaule, Ryan Godfrey, Brendan Aherne, Barry Walsh, Sean Keane, Darragh Godfrey, David O Neill, Paraic Ryan, Joe Hegarty, Conor McNamara, Shane Brosnahan, Shane O Neill, Arthur O Donnell, Brendan McSweeney, Bill Hickey, Roan O Mahoney, Ben Compton, Sean Enright, Shane Kilcoyne, Brendan Butler, Shane Garry, Brian McDonagh, Patrick O Donnell.

Parish Lotto:
The jackpot is now over €5500 so make sure you get your ticket online or in any of the local public premises.