Round Up Fitzgibbon Cup Wins for UG and SETU Waterford:
Thursday 25th January

SETU Waterford 0-11 MTU Cork 0-9
University of Galway 1-22 UCD 2-11

University of Galway made it back to back victories in the Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup this evening as they defeated UCD by eight points in Dangan.

Niall Collins was their main score-getter, hitting 0-14, of which 12 were pointed frees from a variety of angles and distances.

The home team led by 1-10 to 0-8 after a lively first-half with Alex Connaire (0-2), Colm Molloy, Ian McGlynn, and Tiernan Killeen also getting on the scoresheet for University of Galway, with Eoin Guilfoyle (four frees) and Dara Purcell (0-3) the main men for UCD.

The crucial score of the half came shortly before the break when Colm Molloy’s dipping delivery went hit the back of the UCD net.

UCD hit back with a goal of their own at the start of the second-half when a long ball from Charlie McGuckian went all the way to the back of the UG net.

Four frees from Collins settled UG again, and they pushed on from there strongly to the finish with another McGuckian goal for UCD little more than a consolation.

SETU Waterford also made it two wins from two in the Electric Ireland Fitzgibbon Cup this evening, but they had to do it the hard way against a very competitive MTU Cork.

On a difficult night for hurling you couldn’t fault the endeavour of both teams and there was little between them for most of the contest.

Rueben Halloran pushed SETU Waterford 0-4 to 0-3 ahead, but points from Sean Walsh and Mark Tobin helped MTU Cork into a 0-5 to 0-4 half-time lead.

Walsh extended their advantage to two points at the start of the second-half, and were still in front by 0-8 to 0-7 deep into the second-half after a Sam Quirke free.

But it was SETU Waterford who finished the stronger as two late frees by Halloran sealed the victory.