Preview: Sunday’s Munster Senior Hurling Championship Final:

Sunday 11th June
Munster Senior Hurling Championship Final
Limerick v Clare, TUS Gaelic Grounds, 1.45pm, RTE
Referee: Liam Gordon (Galway)

During the past 12 months Limerick and Clare have delivered some epic encounters.

So there is a real sense of anticipation ahead of Sunday’s Munster SHC decider.

Clare’s stirring win over Limerick in the round robin phase highlighted just how purposeful and passionate Brian Lohan’s team can be.

A similarly dynamic and defiant display will be required because Limerick earned a vital success over Cork.

That high stakes match illustrated Limerick’s ability with John Kiely’s outfit now eager to secure a fifth provincial title on the spin.

These really are exciting times for Limerick, but Clare haven’t sampled Munster glory since 1998 so this will be a fascinating match.

The 2023 All-Ireland SHC.
Diarmaid Byrnes has been hugely effective for Limerick throughout the 2023 Championship, while Tom Morrissey is another player impressing for the All-Ireland champions.

Inside Aaron Gillane has registered 0-25 so far ensuring Clare will need to be diligent defensively.

Conor Cleary was an injury doubt, but he has been named at full-back for Clare, who will be primed for this battle.

Tony Kelly and Aidan McCarthy have been key figures in attack for the Banner, while centre back John Conlon remains an influential figure.

It could go the distance.

Limerick: Nickie Quaid; Mike Casey, Dan Morrissey, Barry Nash; Diarmaid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Kyle Hayes; Darragh O’Donovan, William O’Donoghue; Gearóid Hegarty, Cathal O’Neill, Tom Morrissey; Aaron Gillane, Séamus Flanagan, Peter Casey.

Subs: David McCarthy, Conor Boylan, Ronan Connolly, Aaron Costelloe, Colin Coughlan, Adam English, Richie English, Cian Lynch, Graeme Mulcahy, Oisín O’Reilly, David Reidy.

Clare: Eibhear Quilligan; Adam Hogan, Conor Cleary, Rory Hayes; Diarmuid Ryan, John Conlon, David McInerney; David Fitzgerald, Cathal Malone; Peter Duggan, Tony Kelly, Aidan McCarthy; Ryan Taylor, Shane O’Donnell, Mark Rodgers.

Subs: Eamonn Foudy, Cian Nolan, Ian Galvin, Shane Meehan, Aron Shanagher, Aaron Fitzgerald, Robin Mounsey, Paul Flanagan, Cian Galvin, Keith Smyth, Seadna Morey.