Patrickswell GAA Club Notes:

Senior Hurlers:
Patrickswell’s County Final against Na Piarsaigh ended in disappointment after a four-point defeat to the holders. The game started brightly when Aaron Gillane scored two points within two minutes, but Peter Casey and Ronan Lynch had levelled up by the fifth minute. The next fifteen minutes were keenly contested and relatively low scoring. Evan Fitzgerald and Jack Kelleher (0-2) ensured that the ‘Well were level at 0-5 apiece. The critical phase of the match was a brief spell where Ronan Lynch scored two points for Na Piarsaigh and Peter Casey’s mazy run ended with a close range kick into the net. Patrickswell were now 1-7 to 0-5 behind. Jack Kelleher and Diarmaid Byrnes steadied the ship and Patrickswell reached the dressing room at 1-8 to 0-7 behind.
Within two minutes of the restart, two Na Piarsaigh points gave them their largest lead of the match at six points ahead. Patrickswell trimmed the deficit to four points at 1-12 to 0-11 when Diarmaid Byrnes, Jack Kelleher and Aaron Gillane 0-2 scored points. There were still twenty minutes still to play. Over the next ten minutes, the two sides exchanged four points each as Patrickswell could not edge closer at 1-16 to 0-15 (Kevin O’Brien, Mark Carmody and Aaron Gillane 0-2). At one stage, Patrickswell moved within just two points thanks to Kevin O’Brien and Aaron Gillane. However Ronan Lynch and Kevin Downes slammed the door with points in response. There were five minutes left and Na Piarsaigh held a narrow 1-18 to 0-17 lead. The grand finale never materialised for Eamonn Kelly’s men. Further Patrickswell points from John Flynn and Calvin Carroll were quenched by two Ronan Lynch frees. There were no late goal chances as Na Piarsaigh stifled the ‘Well. The Caherdavin side were champions again by 1-20 to 0-19. Hard luck to the players and management for producing such a gritty display in the Daly Cup.

Club Lotto:
The Club Lotto draw on Monday October 23 was not won. The numbers drawn were 12, 20, 22 and 30. The bonus number was 14. The €100 Lucky Dip was won by Allison Doran and the €20 prizes were claimed by Luke Cummins, James Hall, Alex O’Shea, Maura Byrnes and Ian Kelleher. This week’s jackpot is €5,000.