Patrickswell GAA Club Notes:

Senior Hurlers:
Patrickswell produced an impressive display to overcome Kilmallock in the County Championship semi-final at the Gaelic Grounds. John Kirby registered the opening point within thirty seconds, but Micheal Houlihan responded with two frees for the Balbec. Patrickswell kept Kilmallock scoreless for seventeen minutes and surged ahead with seven consecutive points from Aaron Gillane 0-4, Jordan Higgins, Diarmaid Byrnes and Evan Fitzgerald. The scoreboard after twenty minutes displayed a 0-8 to 0-2 advantage. Micheal Houlihan notched another brace of frees, but Cian Lynch and Aaron Gillane were on hand to maintain a 0-10 to 0-4 lead. The first half ended with Patrickswell 0-12 to 0-5 ahead when Cian Lynch and Aaron Gillane contributed more points.
The opening ten minutes of the second half saw a reaction from Kilmallock, but they couldn’t eat significantly into the lead. Cian Fitzgerald and Aaron Gillane scored points to keep Patrickswell 0-14 to 0-9 ahead on the 40th minute. The game ended as a contest when John Kirby hit the net after unselfish play from Aaron Gillane. Within eight minutes, Patrickswell had increased the margin to eleven points at 1-19 to 0-11 thanks to Aaron Gillane 0-3, Kevin O’Brien and Thomas O’Brien. John Kirby and Aaron Gillane cancelled out Balbec points, but Robbie Hanley’s goal for Kilmallock narrow the gap to eight points at 1-21 to 1-13 on the 55th minute. Two further Kilmallock points created some nerves, but Patrickswell were ruthless with a five-minute spell that yielded an Aaron Gillane goal and yet more points from Gillane, Cian Lynch and Diarmaid Byrnes. The gap was now a remarkable twelve points of 2-24 to 1-15. Robbie Hanley’s second goal deep in stoppage time was a consolation for Kilmallock, but Diarmaid Byrnes’ late point wrapped up a satisfying 2-25 to 2-15 win.

Club Notes:
The Club Lotto draw on Monday October 9 was not won. The numbers drawn were 1, 20, 21 and 28. The bonus number was 19. The €100 Lucky Dip was won by Mary Grace and the €20 prizes were claimed by Cornelia & Michael O’Riordan, Wayne Anderson, Elaine O’Reilly, Carmel Kirby and Maurice Histon. This week’s jackpot is €4,600.

U21 Hurling Championship:
Patrickswell are scheduled to face Na Piarsaigh in our opening fixture of the Premier Championship on Friday October 20 at 8.00pm in University of Limerick North Campus