Patrickswell GAA Club Notes:

Senior Hurlers:
The Senior hurlers produced a late goal blitz to edge out Ballybrown in a compelling County Championship quarter-final. Patrickswell flew into an early three-point lead thanks to Jordan Higgins’ brace and Jack Kelleher. Ballybrown replied with two quick points, but the ‘Well were 0-7 to 0-4 ahead in the 15th minute (Aaron Gillane, Thomas O’Brien, Diarmaid Byrnes and Evan Fitzgerald). Ballybrown equalised in the space of four minutes with three consecutive points. Patrickswell were unfazed and enjoyed a great spell when Evan and Diarmaid Byrnes added points before Tom O’Brien claimed a superb goal after a mazy run. The scoreline looked healthy at 1-9 to 0-7 on 25 minutes. The remainder of the first half was level pegging as Aaron Gillane snatched two points and Ballybrown replied in kind. The interval score was 1-11 to 0-9.
The opening stages of the second half belonged to Patrickswell as Cian Lynch, Jordan Higgins and John Kirby built an eight point lead. However, Patrickswell did not score for thirteen minutes while Ballybrown plundered a goal and four points without reply. There was fifteen minutes left and Patrickswell led by a solitary 1-14 to 1-13. Over the next ten minutes, Ballybrown equalised at 1-16 apiece, despite Cian Fitzgerald and Aaron Gillane points. The game was in the mixer with five minutes to go. Thankfully, Cian Lynch’s goal deflated Ballybrown and more late goals from John Kirby and Aaron Gillane sealed a 4-17 to 1-17 victory that flattered the ‘Well. The semi-final against Kilmallock is scheduled for Sunday October 15.

Junior A Hurlers:
The season ended with a match against a strong Monagea team. The scoring rate at the beginning of the first half was impressively high. By the 15th minute, the score was 0-7 apiece (Eoin Harmon 0-4, Gavin Carey, Cian Enright and Billy Earls). Liam Fitzgerald notched a clever goal, but Monagea were level within 30 seconds. Our opponents pushed ahead with a second goal and four additional points, despite scores from Darragh Ahern and Eoin Harmon. The half-time score was 2-11 to 1-9.
The game ran away from Patrickswell, who managed one point in twenty minutes. Meanwhile Monagea accumulated another eight points to build a 2-19 to 1-10 lead in the 50th minute. The game closed out with three points from Liam Fitzgerald and Eoin Harmon 0-2. Our campaign thus concluded with a 2-20 to 1-13 reverse.

Club Lotto:
The Club Lotto draw on Monday September 25 was not won. The numbers drawn were 1, 7, 12 and 25. The bonus number was 10. The €100 Lucky Dip was won by Seamus O’Riordan and the €20 prizes were claimed by Kieran Carroll, Cathal White, Louise Foley, Aaron, Jason & Sarah Gillane and Brendan Guerin. This week’s jackpot is €4,200.