Patrickswell GAA Club Notes:

Senior Hurling:
Patrickswell suffered defeat in the fourth match of the County Championship against Kilmallock. We raced into a four-point lead by the fifth minute thanks to Cian Fitzgerald (0-2), Patrick Kirby and Aaron Gillane. However Kilmallock produced four consecutive points and had equalised by the 10th minute. The sides exchanged three points apiece (Aaron Gillane 0-2 and Jack Kelleher) before the game sprang to life. Kilmallock struck their opening goal, but Cian Lynch dispatched a rocket into the top corner within thirty seconds of that. Aaron Gillane had a great spell of two points and a clever re-directed goal to build a 2-9 to 1-7 lead. The Balbec surged back into the contest with four unanswered points, before Aaron Gillane and Evan Fitzgerald cemented a 2-11 to 1-11 interval lead.
Kilmallock started the second half with a trio of points, before John Flynn and John Kirby put Patrickswell 2-13 to 1-14 ahead. There were no Patrickswell scores for ten minutes, but Kilmallock notched four points to take a two-point lead in the 45th minute. Patrickswell were unfazed and enjoyed a spell of five points in six minutes (Aaron Gillane 0-3, Cian Lynch and Jordan Higgins). There were eight minutes of normal time and we held a slender 2-18 to 1-19 advantage. The game took a negative turn as Graeme Mulcahy plundered a goal and Kilmallock added two more points. While Aaron Gillane scored a point, Kilmallock cancelled it out immediately. There was high drama when Patrickswell were awarded a late penalty. The scoreboard displayed 2-22 to 2-19 as Diarmaid Byrnes faced the Kilmallock goalkeeper. There was almost total quiet when he struck his shot. Unfortunately for Patrickswell, the sliotar cleared the crossbar for a point. Moments later, the referee ended the match with Kilmallock emerging as 2-22 to 2-20 victors.

Junior A Hurlers:
Patrickswell lost their third Championship match against Ballybricken Bohermore at a hot and humid Fedamore. The first quarter was finely balanced when both teams accrued four points each (Cian Enright, Eoin Harmon and Darragh Ahern 0-2). Patrickswell surged clear with four rapid points from Peter Harty, Eoin Harmon 0-2 and Cian Gorman. Conor Robinson and Eoin Harmon had points matched by our opponents, before Ballybricken Bohermore added three more points. Patrickswell were 0-10 to 0-9 ahead when Billy Earls snatched our opening goal on the stroke of half-time.
A point from Conor Robinson and a second goal from Gavin Carey established a 2-11 to 0-10 lead in the 35th minute. Patrickswell were ahead by seven points, but failed to score for another 17 minutes. In that time, Ballybricken Bohermore piled on two goals and three points. There were ten minutes left and we now trailed by 2-13 to 2-11. Eoin Harmon, Andrew Carroll and Darragh Ahern restored parity at 2-14 apiece and there were ten minutes left to seek out a crucial victory. Despite having our tails up, Ballybricken Bohermore ended the match strongly and won by 2-18 to 2-14. The fourth match of the campaign is against Staker Wallace on Wednesday September 13 at 6.30pm in Ballybricken.

Junior Camogie:
There were scenes of delight in Feenagh as Patrickswell won the Junior Camogie Cup final against Blackrock-Effin. It was a game of contrasting styles as Patrickswell went for points and our opponents aimed for the net. After twelve minutes, the scores were level at 0-4 to 1-1 (Ciara Barry, Ailish Byrnes and Leah O’Carroll 0-2). Blackrock Effin’s second goal was a setback, but Patrickswell dominated the remainder of the first half and led by 0-8 to 2-1 at the break (Leah O’Carroll 0-2, Sarah Carey and Roisin O’Brien).
For most of the second half, Patrickswell maintained our narrow lead. Four points from Sophie Carey, Roisin O’Brien 0-2 and Ailish Byrnes cancelled out Blackrock Effin’s attempt at recovery. There were five minutes to play and the ‘Well led by a narrow 0-12 to 2-5. With a degree of coolness, Patrickswell pulled away magnificently when Ciara Barry 0-2 and Ciara O’Brien put the gloss on a 0-15 to 2-6 win.

U13 Hurling:
Patrickswell face Pallasgreen on Saturday September 16 in the U-13 Hurling Division 3 Championship Final.

Club Lotto:
The Club Lotto draw on Monday September 4 was not won. The numbers drawn were 1, 16, 22 and 27. The bonus number was 5. The €100 Lucky Dip was won by Margaret Hehir and the €20 prizes were claimed by Willie Ryan, Bernie Guerin, Michelle Carey, Helen Quinn and Elis Vahenomm. This week’s jackpot is €3,600.