INTERMEDIATE HURLERS: The Intermediate hurlers had a busy week. In the City League Final against Na Piarsaigh, the first half was keenly contested and Patrickswell reached the interval narrowly at 0-10 to 1-6 ahead. The second half was another close encounter, but the ‘Well gained the upper hand after the water break and claimed victory by 0-19 to 1-12.
The County League semi-final against Ballybricken-Bohermore was a stern test of the City champions. Our opponents took the lead with a point after one minute, but John Kirby equalised immediately. Ballybricken-Bohermore took advantage of a sixth minute penalty to establish a 1-2 to 0-1 lead. Darragh Ahern’s point was countered by two points from Ballybricken-Bohermore, although John Kirby and Peter Harty were on hand to cancel out those scores. The decisive part of the match was the middle of the first half when our opponents accumulated 1-2 and Patrickswell failed to score for ten minutes. In the 20th minute, the ‘Well were 2-6 to 0-4 behind. John Kirby and Paul O’Brien trimmed the deficit with another two points, but these scores were matched by Ballybricken-Bohermore. John Kirby produced a trio of points just before half-time to close the arrears to 2-9 to 0-9.
The second half began in a competitive manner. Ballybricken-Bohermore increased their advantage to seven points before Darragh Ahern and John Kirby scored points to alter the scoreline to 2-10 to 0-11. Patrickswell failed to score for fifteen minutes while our opponents plundered 1-4. By the 50th minute, the ‘Well trailed by 3-14 to 0-11. Darragh Ahern and Peter Harty scored points that diminished the arrears to ten points; however Ballybricken-Bohermore replied in kind. There were five minutes of normal time left and the scoreline was 3-16 to 0-13. Paul O’Brien’s goal and Darragh Ahern’s point slashed the lead to eight points at 3-16 to 1-14. Ballybricken-Bohermore restored a nine-point lead, before Darragh Ahern’s late goal was followed by Sam McNamara’s point. In the dying stages of the match, Patrickswell were five points down at 3-17 to 2-15. The recovery was finally snuffed out by Ballybricken-Bohermore’s fourth goal just on the final whistle. The result was 4-17 to 2-15.
UNDER 17 HURLERS: The Patrickswell U-17 hurling team had an excellent win over Croom in the County Championship in Croom. The final score line was 2-13 to 0-13. This panel deserve mention as they have worked extremely hard over the past few months and it was very encouraging to see clear progress being made. Goals from Dale McDonagh and Hugh Maher created daylight and there were excellent performances from every position throughout the field.
The team lined out as follows: Josh Mulcahy, Paddy McGrath, John Murray, Ross Ferguson, Christy Carroll, Billy Earls, Conor O’Brien, Harry McDonagh, Jack McNamara, Liam Fitzgerald, James Fitzgerald, Leon Kinsella, Paddy Gardiner, Hugh Maher and Dale McDonagh. Substitutes that played were Cathal Fitzgerald, Tyler McNamara and Jack Foley.
CLUB LOTTO: The draw on Monday July 19 was not won. The numbers drawn were 18, 21, 23 and 25. The bonus number was 4. The €100 Lucky Dip was won by Paula Guerin and the €20 prizes were claimed by Joanne Tierney, RMJ Davoren, Kyle Loftus, Sarah Buckley and Holly Jo Delaney. This week’s jackpot is €6,600.
CLUB LIMERICK DRAW: July’s Club Limerick Draw will take place this Saturday July 31 during the Live 95FM Sports Programme between 10am and 11am. If you would like to renew or update your membership, please follow the link
CLUB Limerick Draw – Club Limerick
Club Limerick Draw 2021. Let’s give our Clubs & our County Hurlers & Footballers the best chance possible in preparing for Future Success.
and select “Patrickswell” as the club you wish to support and the number of draws that you wish to sign up for (there are six draws remaining). If you wish to renew through the club, please contact Seamus O’Riordan at 087-2869175.
July’s exclusive Star Prize is a Dilusso Vanity Unit, Dilusso tap, Dilusso toilet and an Image shower in association with Ger Malone Plumbing & Heating. As always, there is the monthly cash top prize of €10,000 and 28 more cash prizes.