SENIOR HURLERS: The Senior Hurlers played out an entertaining draw away to Monaleen in the final group match of the City League. After ten minutes, the teams were level at 0-3 apiece (Calvin Carroll 0-2 and John Kirby). When the hosts crept ahead with a fourth point, Jason Gillane’s 140 yard puckout eluded the Monaleen goalkeeper for a goal. Patrickswell were further ahead at 1-7 to 0-7 by the 20th minute due to points from Jack Kelleher, Thomas Nolan and Calvin Carroll 0-2. The closing stages of the first half witnessed a further exchange of four points each, with Calvin Carroll notching three scores and John Kirby contributing another. The half-time score was 1-11 to 0-11.
Monaleen were dominant in the first 15 minutes of the second half, outscoring Patrickswell by eight points to one. John O’Meara’s men found themselves 0-19 to 1-12 behind and needed to respond. There was a flurry of points in a five-minute spell as Patrickswell narrowed the gap slightly to 0-22 to 1-16 (John Kirby, Darragh Ahern and Calvin Carroll 0-2). Remarkably, the visitors equalised within two minutes due to a brace from the ever-accurate Calvin Carroll and another point from Jack Kelleher. The scoreline in the 55th minute was 1-19 to 0-22. The teams traded points, before John Kirby appeared to put Patrickswell in the box seat with a goal to make it 2-20 to 0-23. The lead was short-lived as Monaleen produced a goal within thirty seconds and followed up with two points. On the cusp of normal time, the ‘Well trailed by 1-25 to 2-20. The big decision was about aiming for goal or hoping for adequate time for points. Calvin Carroll scored a point in the 62nd minute and Mark Carmody snatched the 2-22 to 1-25 draw in the 64th minute. Patrickswell face Na Piarsaigh in the City semi-final on Thursday June 1 at 7.00pm in Caherdavin.
INTERCOUNTY HURLERS: Best wishes to the Limerick hurlers and their Patrickswell contingent in the Munster Final.
CLUB LOTTO: The Club Lotto draw on Monday May 23 was not won. The numbers drawn were 6, 7, 10 and 12. The bonus number was 4. The €100 Lucky Dip was won by Tom Benn and the €20 prizes were claimed by John Shanahan, Willie Hourigan, Joe Murphy, Alison Bennis and Pat O’Shea. This week’s jackpot is €15,200.