On Saturday 11th. January 2020, there was great excitement in LIT Gaelic Grounds when Limerick scored a Munster Double over Cork in front of an attendance of 5,296.
The McGrath Cup was won by the Senior Footballers in a game that got the double header proceedings underway, and they scored a well deserved 0.20 to 0.16 victory. There was great jubilation when joint Team Captains, Donal O’Sullivan and Iain Corbett lifted The McGrath Cup in the Mackey Stand..
The Senior Hurlers completed a notable double when they scored a convincing 1.32 to 0.20 victory to regain the Co-Op Superstores Munster Hurling League title, last won in 2018. Once again there was jubilation when Cian Lynch was presented with the Cup by Jim Woulfe, CEO Dairygold.
This was to be the first of three doubles to be achieved in 2020, Allianz Hurling and Football League titles, Minor and Senior Munster Hurling titles and of course the All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship Title.