Our senior hurlers bowed out of this years senior hurling championship on Sunday at the hands of Patrickswell following a tough battle.
We got off to a slow start and by the first water break we were trailing by 8 points 2-6 to 0-4.
The second quarter saw us rally well and we picked off some great scores. We also raised the green flag when Keith Dempsey was on hand to fire to the net. The half time score still had us trailing by 5 points 2-11 to 1-09.
The concession of a third goal really knocked us back but in true champions style we fought bravely and could well have been closer but for the brilliance of the Well keeper.
Several efforts somehow being stopped which on another day would have us in front.
Captain Will O Donoghue and Daithi Dempsey in particular were excellent along with Kevin Downes.
Another good campaign for Kieran Bermingham and his management team. We express huge thanks to everyone associated with this wonderful team who will no doubt be back again next year looking to claim back the Daly Cup
Team: Kevin Ryan, Kieran Kennedy, Conor Houlihan, Emmet McEvoy, Mike Foley, Ronan Lynch, Jerome Boylan, Will O Donoghue(capt), Tommy Grimes, Sean Long, Kevin Downes, Conor Boylan, Keith Dempsey, David Dempsey, Adrian Breen.
Final Score Na Piarsaigh 1-22 Patrickswell 3-21
A fine mornings hurling on Saturday for our annual Tommy Burtchaell tournament.This years opponents were Bruff and Adare and they brought with them some excellent hurlers.
In the end it was Na Piarsaigh who took the honours defeating Bruff in the final.Bruff winning the Shield event and Adare winning the plate.
Well done to all the organisers and team coaches but special words for the much heckled referees who volunteered their time. We thank you all for making the tournament a success again this year.
We also ran the annual David Bourke tournament with visiting teams from Kilruane McDonaghs and Newport of Tipperary.
Once again it was Na Piarsaigh who were victorious and we thank all concerned for yet another display of hurling.
Thanks to the organisers and the parents who supplied food for all.
The jackpot is now at €8000 following Mondays draw.
The numbers drawn were05, 12, 27, 28
Lucky dips were won by martin Harty, Linda O Brien and Danny Halpin.
Sellers prize went to Liam O Brien and house draw to Maura Wall.