A big day out for our footballers on Sunday as they faced into the clubs first ever Munster Football Final.
Traveling to Mallow to take on the Kerry champions Rathmore in very cold and trying conditions.
We began well with a point from skipper Dylan Cronin before Rathmore rattled off 4 pointed frees of their own.
Kieran Daly added a point on 12 minutes following good work in attack.
High drama ensued and we very nearly raised a green flag from Cathal McMullen when his goal-bound effort was deflected out for a 45.
Eoghan Sherlock was immediately busy at the other end to deny Rathmore a goal chance.
Further frees conceded added to our woe and by the half-time whistle, we trailed by 6 points 0-10 to 0-4.
We began the second half strongly and a Kieran Daly 45 increased our tally. Shortly after came a crucial period when Kieran Daly gain possession from the kick out to race through on goal only to see his rasper of a shot bounce back off the crossbar and back out to the 13-meter line. A huge turning points no doubt and a swing in their favor as they scored from the resulting attack.
We added two further points to reduce the deficit and possibly could have had a few more but the decisive score came on 43 minutes when Rathmore engineered a goal and added a point to reopen a lead we could not surmount.
A major swing in the tie and try as we might the lead was too big.
Further points from Kieran Daly, Dylan Cronin, and substitute Tom McKeown completed our tally and a gallant effort from the lads.
What has been an excellent campaign, where Senior status has been resecured and a first victory in the Munster Club also added to the list.
Congratulations to all concerned with this team with a special mention to Micheal Lynch for his unbelievable dedication again this year.
To coach James Fleming who did an excellent job, Ciaran McHugh, Brian Hartnett the team selectors, Daragh Kennedy and Brian Hurley on physio and Leonard Durac and Dave O Connell on stats and analysis.
Thank you to the brave souls who made the trip to support the team as it was gratefully appreciated.
A big thank you to Michael Roberts for his generous sponsorship again this year. We really appreciate your support.
Final score Rathmore 1-17 Na Piarsaigh 0-10
Eoghan Sherlock; Diarmuid Ryan, Shane Walsh, Jack Barry; Cathal McMullan, Reuben McCarthy, Evan O’Brien; Gordon Brown, Ruaidhrí O’Connell; Kevin Nolan, Dylan Cronin, Dean McLoughlin; Kieran Daly, Evan Sweeney, Evan Egan. Subs: Fionn Ó Tiarnaigh for Cathal McMullan (40mins), James Daly for Kevin Nolan (43mins), Ronan Holohan for Evan O’Brien (46mins), Eoin McNulty for Shane Walsh (50mins), Tom McKeown for Evan Egan (53mins).
Scorers: Kieran Daly(0-5, 1×65), Dylan Cronin(0-3, 2frees), Tom McNulty(0-1), Evan Egan(0-1)
A big thank you to everyone who supported the Dunnes Stores packing on Friday.
It was a difficult day to pack but it was a great turnout nonetheless.
Thanks to Grainne Hickey for coordinating the event.
The jackpot sits at €5200.
Last week’s results were 09, 16, 25, 27
Lucky dip winners were Siobhan Connolly, James Ryan, and Dennis Collins.
The sellers prize went to Bernie Buckley and the house draw to Maura Wall
The final draw of 2022 took place on Saturday and we had 3 winners.
Congratulations to Munster Footgolf, Gerard Casey and Martin Waters.
A big thank you to everyone who supported our draw this year.
We really appreciate your support and look forward to your continued support next year.
Music in the bar this Saturday night with Rhys Reynolds for 9 to 11pm.
All are welcome.