Our senior hurlers were back in Munster club action for the first time since 2018 when they welcomed All Ireland Champions Ballygunner to the Gaelic Grounds on Sunday. Having built up somewhat of a rivalry with the Waterford champions over the past 10 years or so, this game proved to be no different. We got off to an excellent start with points from Kevin Downes x 2 frees and a Will Henn point before Ballygunner opened their account. Peter Casey added a brace of fine points before an error at the back allowed the Waterford side in for a goal.
Kevin Downes responded brilliantly with a point from the touchline. Three unanswered Gunner points had them in front on 18 minutes but we responded excellently with a goal from Keith Dempsey following a glorious pass from his midfield partner Will O Donoghue.
We traded points with our opponents with Mike Foley and David Dempsey raising white flags before Conor Boylan rifled home our second goal with 5 minutes left in the half. Will Henn added two beauties to send us in at the break 2-11 to 1-9 in front.
At the start of the second half we had opportunities to increase the lead but these fell short.
A long-range Ronan Lynch free and a Peter Casey point sandwiched three points from Ballygunner.
Then came a decisive score when a breaking ball fell kindly for our opponents to send past Evan Condon into the net. It was all Ballygunner now and in spite of a bullet-like shot from Conor Boylan which rose high for a point and the last point for Keith Dempsey, it was not to be for our lads.
Worrying news from Mike Casey and an anxious wait for a scan to see what the extent of his injury will be. We salute this group who again have delivered the Daly Cup to the trophy cabinet and no doubt will rise again next year.
Big thanks also to the management team led by Kieran Bermingham who have put in a massive effort and must be commended for sure.
Mille buiochas also to Smithstown Light Engineering who have been magnificent sponsors once again.
SCORERS: Na Piarsaigh: Kevin Downes 0-4 (3frees), Keith Dempsey and Conor Boylan 1-1 each, William Henn and Peter Casey 0-3 each, Mike Foley, David Dempsey and Ronan Lynch (free) 0-1 each.
NA PIARSAIGH: Evan Condon; Cathall King, Mike Casey, Emmet McEvoy; Mike Foley, Jerome Boylan, Ronan Lynch; William O’Donoghue, Keith Dempsey; Kevin Downes, Peter Casey, Conor Boylan, Adrian Breen; William Henn, David Dempsey. Subs: Sean Long for Mike Foley, inj (28mins), Tommy Grimes for Mike Casey, inj (53mins), David Breen for Kevin Downes (56mins).
The jackpot is now sitting at €4900
Last week’s numbers were 02, 19, 29, 31.
Lucky dip winners were Liz Harris , Susan Frawley and Bridget Ryan.
The sellers prize went to Frank Holohan and the house draw to Ger Bowen.
Our Bingo continues each Tuesday evening with doors open from 7.30pm
Fist call is 8pm sharp and all are welcome to attend.
Please spread the word.
Next Sunday our Intermediate footballers are back in action in the Munster club semi-final where they will face Tipperary champions Ballina.
The game is on at 1 pm in Kilmallock on Sunday
We wish Micheal and the lads the very best of luck