Monaleen reach Munster final after a dramatic extra time win over Wolfe Tones:

By John Keogh Limerick Leader Sport

MONALEEN booked their spot in the Munster Junior B hurling final with a stunning extra time win over Wolfe Tones Na Siona in Killeedy this Saturday afternoon.

The Limerick champions earned an 0-11 to 0-8 victory over their opponents from Shannon with Max Ivory scoring 0-5 for the city side.

Eamonn O’Connell and Niall Macken’s charges put in an excellent performance in the second half and in extra time to set up a final date with Tipperary’s Drom & Inch.

Wolfe Tones were the better side in the first half in a game that was played in very difficult conditions at Raheenagh. However, Monaleen were full value for their victory.

Barry Loughnane, son of legendary former Clare manager Ger, was the difference in the opening 30 minutes with his two points the only scores in the opening 12 minutes.

Monaleen were struggling into the strong breeze but finally got on the scoreboard themselves with Ivory striking after an excellent Noel Clancy delivery.

However, it was the Clare side that quickly restored a two-point advantage through a long range free from Gary Cusack that saw them lead 0-3 to 0-1 at the break.

Mark O’Sullivan put Wolfe Tones three clear in the early stages of the second half but it was Monaleen that had the better of things from then on.
Top Stories

Two Ivory frees brought Monaleen to within a point with 12 minutes of the second half and the same man’s second point from play brought the teams level for the first time.

A Jamie Walker free and O’Sullivan’s second of the afternoon soon had Wolfe Tones back in front but efforts from Dylan Crowe and Ivory saw the game finish level at 0-6 apiece.

Monaleen quickly took control in extra time with Ben Murnane scoring from an acute angle following a superb pass from Ben Mansfield.

Mansfield then popped up with a score of his own after making a big impact off the bench but a fine effort from David Ryan cut Monaleen’s lead to one at half time of extra time.

Murnane was at it again with another excellent score in the 74th minute and then a huge long distance free from Muiris Ó Dálaigh saw their lead at three. Cian O’Dwyer landed the insurance point late on that ensured Monaleen’s place in the Munster Junior B decider.

SCORERS – MONALEEN: Max Ivory 0-5 (0-3 frees), Ben Murnane 0-2, Dylan Crowe, Ben Mansfield, Muiris Ó Dálaigh (0-1 free) and Cian O’Dwyer 0-1.

SCORERS – WOLFE TONES: Barry Loughnane and Marl O’Sullivan 0-2 each, Gary Cusack (0-1 free), Jamie Walker (0-1 free), David Ryan and Jamie Roughan (0-1 free) 0-1 each.

MONALEEN: Muiris Ó Dálaigh; Darragh Clifford, Damien Cosgrove, Conor Carew; Noel Clancy, Conor Nicholas, Tom Darcy; Ben Murnane, Conall O’Duinn; Harry Gleeson, Cian O’Dwyer, Diarmaid Lehane; Dylan Crowe, Robert O’Sullivan, Max Ivory.

SUBS: Luke Ryan for Lehane (43 mins), Ben Mansfield for Gleeson (47 mins), Jack Ryan for O’Sullivan (50 mins), Nicky O’Dwyer for Ivory (79 mins), Mike Doyle for Ryan (79 mins), Lehane for Darcy (83 mins, inj).

WOLFE TONES: Gary Leahy; Mikey Hayes, Dermot O’Rourke, Brian Murphy; Ronan Walsh, Jamie Roughan, Gary Cusack; Daithi O’Connell, Gary O’Connell; David Ryan, Barry Loughnane, Mark O’Sullivan; Liam O’Dwyer, Peter McEvoy, Joe McGauley.

SUBS: Jamie Walker for O’Dwyer (23 mins), Darragh O’Callaghan for McEvoy (43 mins), Adam O’Connor for Walsh (47 mins), Brian O’Connell for Ryan (55 mins), O’Dwyer for Walker (h-t, e-t), Ryan for O’Connell (h-t, e-t), McEvoy for O’Sullivan (64 mins), Aaron Kelly for O’Callaghan (76 mins).

REFEREE: Peter Carroll (Tipperary).