BEST OF LUCK: Best of luck to the Limerick senior hurlers who face Waterford in the All-Ireland semi-final at Croke Park this Saturday at 5pm. Monaleen’s Paul Kinnerk is coach to the Limerick senior hurlers once again this year. The game will be live on RTE2 and Sky Sports. Best of luck to the Limerick players and management team.
Monaleen’s five representatives on the Limerick minor football squad which has reached the Munster final against Cork on August 11
WELL DONE: Well done to Monaleen’s five representatives on the Limerick minor football squad who have reached this year’s Munster final. The five Monaleen players involved in the squad are team captain Darragh Murray, Conall O’Duinn, Darragh Clifford, Stephen Kiely and Oisin O’Connor. It is a big honour for the club to have such a strong representation in the squad with Limerick reaching the Munster final for the first time since 1998. Monaleen’s Dermot Dineen is also goalkeeoing coach with the squad this year. Limerick have defeated Tipperary and Clare to get to the final. Limerick will now take on Cork in the Munster final on Wednesday night, August 11 at Semple Stadium, Thurles at 7.30pm. Best of luck in the final.
Monaleen players, Darragh Langan, Mark Field and Joseph Fitzgerald, who are members of the 2021 Limerick minor hurling squad
COMMISERATIONS: Hard luck to Monaleen’s three players who are members of the 2021 Limerick minor hurling squad which lost out to Cork in the Munster semi-final last week. Monaleen’s three representatives included team vice-captain Joseph Fitzgerald, Darragh Langan and Mark Field. Jospeh won a Munster minor hurling medal with Limerick in 2020, while Darragh and Mark are under-age for the minor grade once again in 2022.
HARD LUCK: Commiserations to Monaleen’s Donnacha O’Dalaigh and Ronan Lyons who were members of the Limerick U20 hurling squad which lost out to Cork in the Munster U20 championship final played last week. Limerick had earlier defeated Clare in the Munster semi-final.
LOTTO: The latest Lotto draw took place on Thursday, July 29 with the jackpot standing at €20,000. The numbers drawn were 17, 27, 31 and 35. Winners of the €50 lucky dips were M. Fitzpatrick, Monaleen Park; L. Murray, Kylemore; A McCarthy, Evanwood. Thank you for your continued support.
INTERMEDIATE TEAM: Our Intermediate team were away to Murroe Boher on Thursday in the final group game of the League. This was another close game. Despite a slow start, a fantastic goal from Ella Hession following a great pass from Amy Burke brought Monaleen right into contention. However, the girls could never get level with the home side and the final score was Murroe Boher 2-10 to Monaleen 1-10. This result places Monaleen in the plate section with a home semi final v Templeglantine up next. Panel: Niamh Moloney, Saoirse Lane; Grainne Fullen; Niamh Doyle; Caitlin Bonfil; Shannon Power; Laura Hession; Aoife Doyle; Ella Hession; Emily O’ Halloran; Lucy D’Arcy; Aoife Sheehan; Ruth Heavey; Emily O Halloran; Aoife Nelligan; Clodagh Power; Amy Burke; Aine Doyle; Laura Southern.
JUNIOR TEAM: Our Junior Team had a great win over Knockaderry on Friday. Following a good start the girls kept the score board ticking over throughout with 2-6 from Emily O Brien and a great goal from Chloe Haugh being the highlights. A home semi v Ballybrown next Friday the 6th August is the next match. Panel: Avril Kinnerk; Emily O’Brien; Mia OHalloran; Aoilean Hennessey; Megan O’Keeffe; Chloe Haugh; Charley Drury; Grace Malone; Saoirse Fitzgerald; Kim Ivory; Jenny Holmes; Keelan Corcoran; Shalini Kujur; Katie Golden; Kim Comerford; Ella McCarthy; Amy Kavanagh; Eimar Morgan; Abi Houlihan; Aimee O’Brien; Megan O’Keeffe; Eimar Morgan.
U14 CHAMPIONSHIP: Our U14 team kicked off their Championship on Thursday away to Bruff. A strong first half from Monaleen with 2 goals from play gave a 2-05 to 1-00 lead at half time. A quick goal from Monaleen at the start of the 2nd half put this game beyond the reach of Bruff despite a strong rally. Final score Monaleen 3-07 Bruff 2-03. The next game for Monaleen is at home to Patrickswell on Thursday. Panel: Erika McCarthy, Emma O’Leary, Carrie McCormack, Andrea Costello, Emma McGrath, Rebecca Bromell, Lily Reid, Alice Sheedy, Robyn D’Arcy, Grace Hegarty, Kate Moloney, Ella Rock, Millie Reen, Katie O’Gorman, Lucy Power, Sarah O’Halloran, Isabelle Bromell, Ashling O’Leary, Louise Burke.