Limerick’s Eight Senior All Ireland Hurling Titles

On Sunday last 19th. August, 2018, Limerick Won their Eight Senior Hurling Championship Title to consolidate the fourth place position in the Roll of Honour

Kilkenny (36) Cork (30) Tipperary (27) Limerick (8) Dublin (6) Wexford (6) Galway (5) Offaly (4) Clare (4) Waterford (2) Kerry (1) Laois (1) London

Below are the Eight Limerick Winning Teams, all with their own little history.
The first Title won in November 1898,was the 1897 Title won by Kilfinane in Tpperary town, the second title came in 1918, just 100 years ago, when Newcastlewest were winners and will be celebrated later this year.. Title Number Three came in 1923, when Limerick became the first Winners of The Liam McCarthy Cup as 1921 Champions, the Final was delayed. 1934 saw Limerick win their fourth All Ireland Title and it was the beginning of The Mick Mackey Era when he was on the 1936 winning team and was Captain in 1940 to win his third All Ireland Medal and Limerick’s sixth Title.
Limerick reached their first All Ireland Final in Thirty Three Years when they won their seventh Title defeating Kilkenny. In 1974, 1980, 1994, 1996 and 2007 they reached the Final but lost out on each occasion.
2018 the Light Shone on a Young Limerick team and on Sunday 19th August in Croke Park they defeated Galway by 3.16 to 2.18 in the All Ireland Hurling Final to bring the Liam McCarthy Cup back to Limerick after a wait of 45 years, amid Cheers and Tears of Joy.