Limerick start senior camogie league campaign against Kerry:

By Siadbh Redmond Limerick Leader Sport

THE LIMERICK senior camogie team begin their Division 1B Very Ireland league campaign this Saturday away to Kerry.

They also face league fixtures against Down, Dublin, Antrim and Wexford in the coming weeks.

Limerick camogie manager Joe Quaid, confirmed a 32-strong squad for the league at the start of 2024, which included Sarah Carey after an absence since 2020.

Rebecca Delee also makes a comeback after a cruciate ligament injury saw her ruled out of the 2023 season. Cappamore’s Laura Fennelly is the new Limerick captain this year.

This is Quaid’s first year back at the helm after being Limerick manager for three years between 2013 and 2015 and guiding the team to All-Ireland intermediate success in 2014 with a five-point win over Kilkenny.

Following his stint with Limerick, Quaid moved on to take over the Kildare senior hurling team, spending three years with the Lilywhites.

Limerick’s senior camogie side kept their Division 1B status in the Very Camogie League following a last ditch win in their final league game against Offaly last year.

The junior camogie team have also started their Very Ireland division 3B league campaign with a1-14 to 3-7 loss away to Dublin and they face Down in the second round in Cappamore this Saturday at 2pm.

LIMERICK SENIOR CAMOGIE SQUAD: Caoimhe Costello (Adare), Sophie O’Callaghan (Adare), Niamh Brennan (Ahane), Áine Reynolds (Ahane), Sarah Cosgrove (Ahane), Caoimhe Cunningham (Ballyagran), Nadine White (Ballyagran), Ciara O’Riordan (Blackrock-Effin), Lorraine McCarthy (Bruff), Ciara Neenan (Bruff), Mary O’Callaghan (Bruff), Marian Quaid (Bruff), Mairead Ryan (Bruff), Laura Fennelly (Cappamore), Muireann Creamer (Cappamore), Caoimhe Lyons (Monaleen), Aoife Nelligan (Monaleen), Emily O’Halloran (Monaleen), Derbhla Egan (Crecora), Ciara Mulqueen (Crecora), Rebecca Delee (Newcastle West), Orlaith Kelleher (Croagh-Kilfinny), Gemma Barrett (Killeedy), Sarah Shanahan (Killeedy), Sarah Carey (Patrickswell), Teresa Dore (Patrickswell), Cliodhna Ryan (Doon), Emma Kennedy (Doon), Ailbhe Larkin (Mungret St Pauls), Niamh Ryan (St. Ailbes), Stephanie Woulfe (Templeglantine), Lizanna Boylan (Na Piarsaigh).