Limerick minor hurlers defeated by Cork in opening round of the Munster Championship:

By Siadbh Redmond Limerick Leader Sport

LIMERICK have lost to Cork, 1-16 to 1-10, in their opening game of the Electric Ireland Minor Munster GAA Hurling Championship in SuperValu Páirc Uí Chaoimh this evening.

After a dominant display by the home side in the opening half saw them well on top a Jack Cosgrave penalty in the second-half brought the game back, but ultimately Cork were too strong for Shane Dowlin’s side. Limerick now face another trip away to Clare next Friday, April 18 in Sixmilebridge at 7pm.

After a tentative start by both sides Limerick’s Malachy McKenna opened the scoring with a lovely point from play answered immediately by his opposite number Michael Brosnan for Cork to make it one point a piece after two minutes.

The home side pushed on after this point scoring a further two points from play through Kevin Beechior and John Murphy, putting them 0-3 to 0-1 ahead.

Limerick attempted a goal but the shot was saved after six minutes by Josh Goulding after a Patrick Kearney free. This passage of play ended with a Cork goal chance but was saved on the other end by Glenroe’s Cathal Dennehy.

The Rebels seemed more comfortable on the ball and were able to slice through the Limerick defence easily to leave them 0-7 to 0-2 ahead of their Limerick counterparts after 15 minutes of play.

On numerous occasions Limerick aimed for their full forward line which paid off on two occasions with fantastic scores from captain Diarmuid Hurley and another from Patrick Kearney to keep the scoreboard ticking over, but it was Cork that kicked on with the scores in the first-half through free taker Mark O’Brien and Leo Hennessy.

Limerick’s Jack Cosgrave stepped up in the final few minutes of the half to send over three long range frees but it was Cork that lead at the break 0-11 to 0-6.
Top Stories

It took the first seven minutes of the second-half for Limerick to register a score from a Jack Cosgrave free to leave them five points behind.

Quick scores from Cork’s Adam Lee and another free from O’Brien kept the scoreboard ticking over as half-time substitute Peter Barrett added his name to the score sheet to leave it 0-14 to 0-8 after 45 minutes.

Limerick battled on with a free from Patrick Kearney and another point from Diarmuid Hurley before the Treaty team were awarded a penalty after 51 minutes after Cork’s Rian O’Riordan was shown a yellow card for his tackle. Jack Cosgrave made no mistake with the shot and put his side only two points behind with seven minutes of time left.

This score was answered by another Mark O’Brien free. With 59 minutes gone in the game Limerick found themselves totally spread out leaving the Cork full-forward line free and a pass from Peter Barrett found a free Adam Lee who finished his strike with a goal.

Lee’s goal was the finishing of the game as Cork registered their first win in the Electric Ireland Minor Munster GAA Hurling Championship with a 1-16 to 1-10 victory over Limerick.

LIMERICK SCORERS: Jack Cosgrave 1-4 (0-4 frees),Patrick Kearney 0-2 (0-1 frees), Diarmuid Hurley 0-2, Malachy McKenna and Danny Sheehan 0-1 each.

CORK SCORERS: Mark O’Brien 0-7 (0-5 frees, 0-1 65), Adam Lee 1-1, Leo Hennessy 0-2, Michael Brosnan, Kevin Beechinor, John Murphy, Luke Murphy, Cian Denis O’Connor, Peter Barrett 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: Cathal Dennehy (Glenroe), Denis Blackwell (Ahane), Daithí Dennehy (Glenroe), Conor Ryan (Ahane), Eoin Brosnan (Na Piarsaigh), Gavin Dorgan (Monagea), Gearóid Enright (Kilmallock), Liam O’ Connor (Templeglantine), Jack Cosgrave (Ahane) (Joint Captain), Patrick Cagney (Feohanagh), Eoghan Maher (Monaleen), Patrick Kearney (Adare), Danny Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh), Diarmuid Hurley (Hospital/Herberstown) (Joint Captain), Malachy McKenna (Pallasgreen).

SUBS: Paul Murphy (Castletown/Ballyagran) for G Enright (Half-Time), Tommie Cusack (Murroe/Boher) for L O’Connor (40 minutes), Conor Ryan (Adare) for P Kearney (49 minutes), Rory Hanly (Ballybricken/Bohermore) for E Brosnan (60 minutes), Jack Fitzgerald (Bruff) for D Hurley (61 minutes)

CORK: Josh Goulding, Cian Denis O’Connor, Rian O’Riordan, Liam Kelleher, Kevin Beechinor, Conor Noonan, John Murphy, Oisín O’Connell, Jack Hegarty, Leo Hennessy, Mark O’Brien, Luke Murphy, Adam Lee, Joe Twohig, Michael Brosnan.

SUBS: Peter Barrett for J Twohig (Half-Time), Cormac Deane for L Hennessy (45 minutes), Dean Cosgrove for O O’Connell (52 minutes), Fionn Lardner for M Brosnan (60 minutes), Conor O’Donoghue for A Lee (64 minutes)

REFEREE: John Bulger (Clare)