Limerick maintain their unbeaten record with a one-point victory over Tipperary:

By Siadbh Redmond Limerick Leader Sport

LIMERICK did just enough to maintain their unbeaten recored in the Allianz Hurling League after a one point victory, 0-26 to 3-16, against rivals Tipperary in Páirc Ui Chaoimh, Cork, this Saturday evening.

The All-Ireland champions hit a different gear in the second half scoring 17 points before an a late goal from Tipperary’s Jake Morris rocked Limerick leaving them with only a one point win.

Limerick will now face Galway in Pearse Stadium next Saturday, March 16 at 1:15pm in their final group game of the Allianz League.

In this top of the table clash it was Tipperary who opened the scoring with a quick point from play from Jason Forde in the opening minute followed by a similar effort from Gearoid O’Connor.

It took over eight minutes for Limerick to get their opening point from an Aaron Gillane free. The Treaty men struggled to connect with their passes as they struggled with the slippy conditions in Cork, leaving Tipperary get easy possession which they converted into scores.

This continued for large portions of the opening half with Tipperary slotting over points through their forwards with all their first-half scores coming from play leaving them 0-3 to 0-2 ahead after 10 minutes.

The wind played a strong part for both sides with Limerick missing seven chances at scores in the first-half.

Limerick relied heavily on their free taker Gillane who slotted over 0-5 points from the mark in the opening 35 minutes of the game.
Top Stories

His opposition number Jason Forde was equally impressive on the other side of the field and after 30 minutes he was gifted a pass from O’Connor to leave him with a shot at goal finishing with the sliotar in the back of the net.

The four time All-Ireland champions did well to not let the goal rattle them towards the end of the half and battled back with scores from Gearoid Hegarty and another Gillane free to only leave them one point behind at the break, 0-9 to 1-7.

Limerick came out firing at the start of the second-half with half back, Colin Coughlan, finding completely free on two occasions putting them in the lead.

The scores continued to fly over the bar for Limerick as they got into the rhythm of the game with fantastic scores from Conor Boylan, Aaron Gillane and Donnacha Ó Dálaigh.

Tipperary looked shell-shocked by Limerick’s blitz attack only getting three points in the opening ten minutes of the second-half. The Treaty men found a totally different gear and showed their class scoring seven points within a 10 minute period leaving them 0-19 to 1-12 after 58 minutes before a Patrick Maher solo goal gave Tipperary a bit of life back.

This goal would be the Tipp men’s only score for a large period of time as Limerick powered on with subs Graeme Mulcahy and Tom Morrissey adding their names to the score sheet.

Limerick powered on with a further eight points before an injury time goal from Jake Morris nearly caused an upset for Limerick as he rattled the back of the net, but time was against Tipp as Limerick ran out victors on a scoreline of 0-26 to 3-16 in Cork.

LIMERICK SCORERS: Aaron Gillane 0-8 (0-7 frees), Donnacha Ó Dálaigh 0-3,Diarmaid Byrnes 0-3 (0-1 free), Cian Lynch 0-2, , Gearoid Hegarty 0-2, Colin Coughlan 0-2, Conor Boylan, Mike Casey, Graeme Mulcahy, Tom Morrissey, Adam English and Seamus Flanagan 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY SCORERS: Jason Forde 1-7 (0-3 frees), Jake Morris 1-3, Patrick Maher 1-0, Gearoid O’Connor 0-3, Craig Morgan, Alan Tynan and Sean Ryan 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: Nickie Quaid, Fergal O’Connor, Dan Morrissey, Mike Casey, Diarmaid Byrnes, Cathal O’Neill, Colin Coughlan, William O’Donoghue, Barry Murphy, Gearoid Hegarty, Cian Lynch, Conor Boylan, Aaron Gillane, Donnacha Ó Dálaigh, Peter Casey. SUBS: Tom Morrissey for C Boylan (58 minutes), Graeme Mulcahy for P Casey (58 minutes), Seamus Flanagan for A Gillane *(63 mimutes), Adam English for B Murphy (69 minutes).

TIPPERARY: Barry Hogan, Craig Morgan, Ronan Maher, Michael Breen, Seamus Kennedy, Brian McGrath, Conor Bowe, Eoghan Connolly, Paddy Cadell, Alan Tynan, Conor Stakelum, Gearoid O’Connor, Jason Forde, John McGrath, Jakes Morris. SUBS: Bryan O Mara for B McGrath (Half-Time), Dan McCormack for S Kennedy (46 minutes), Sean Ryan for J McGrath (51 mimutes), Patrick Maher for A Tynan (56 minutes), Cathal Quinn for P Cadell (63 minutes)

REFEREE: Liam Gordan (Galway)