At the Munster council offices on Thursday night the Limerick GAA Referees Association held their first in person AGM since Covid 19 disrupted our lives. A large crowd was in attendance, inclusive of representatives from the County Board, Bord na nOg, divisional boards, Limerick and Munster Post Primary Schools. Each of the representatives complimented all referees and their team of officials for their contribution and handling of all games during a successful and enjoyable year. They expressed their gratitude to the outgoing board of officers namely Patsy Coffey, Mike Sexton and Jonathon Hayes for their cooperation and all the work they have done during their term over the last number of years.
The following were elected to the board for the coming year : Chairman Donnacha o Callaghan, Secretary Brendan Stack, Treasurer Timmy McGrath, PRO Eamonn Stapleton.
It was reported that there is an interest from 14 new referees to complete the upcoming foundation course, which was greatly welcomed considering the shortfall and the lack of recruitment due to the pandemic. An appeal was made to anyone who might wish to join the team and ‘Put your whistle where your Mouth is’ to contact any of the officers.
A presentation of medals to referees who took charge of county finals over the last number of years was made by chairman John Cregan and it was agreed to continue the practice of presenting the medals to referees on the match day going forward.
A minutes silence was held as a mark of respect for lost loved ones during the year.
Finally the meeting concluded with a presentation of new gear to all referees.