Larry McCarthy elected new GAA president

Larry McCarthy will succeed John Horan as GAA president next year
Larry McCarthy has been elected as the 40th GAA president after winning a dramatic vote at Congress.

The New York delegate was elected on the fourth count after receiving 142 votes, 10 more than Jarlath Burns, and becomes the first overseas president.

McCarthy trailed Burns by 17 votes after the first count but made big gains as the votes of eliminated candidates Jerry O’Sullivan and Mick Rock were distributed.

The pair were locked on 110 votes after the third count but the distribution of Jim Bolger’s votes got McCarthy past the quota of 139.

The president-elect will take over from John Horan next year and will occupy the role until 2024.

McCarthy was born in Cork, where his home club was Bishopstown, and he won an All-Ireland club football title with Thomond College (Limerick) in 1978.

After a couple of years teaching in Malahide and playing with Raheny, he emigrated to New York in 1985 to do a Masters degree. He is involved with the Sligo football club in New York, and has served with New York GAA for a long time, as secretary for six years and chairman for three years.

He works as a lecturer in Sports Management in Seton Hall University.

McCarthy said that if elected president, he will be resident in Ireland for his three-year term.


No photo description available.