Junior A Football Championship Quarter Final
KDGAA 1-10 Newcastle West 1-11
The curtain came down on our playing session as our footballers fell to an agonising one point defeat.
This was a cagey affair through out, the teams exchanged points to leave it 2 each at the water break, Denis O Dea getting both our points.
We had the aid of the breeze, Denis converted three more points (one free) to leave it 0.5 to 0.4 at the break.
We now faced into the breeze, Newcastle West soon drew level. However a fine team move saw James O Regan setting up Daniel Holton for a super goal. Denis O Dea again pointed and so we hit the final water break 1.6 to 0.6 ahead. However Newcastle West converted a penalty and the pointed to edge ahead for the first time.
Denis O Dea soon equalised and Sean O Dea also responded to a Newcastle West point to leave it level entering the final straight.
Scores were hard to come by but the commitment and entertainment value was enthralling.
Newcastle West edged ahead with a point from the left. Had we anything left to respond, that was soon answered when that man Denis O Dea worked an opening and proved he was two footed as he pointed off his right foot. The final whistle sounded soon after, signaling extra time.
Newcastle West got the only point of the first half to nudge ahead. Now against the breeze could we respond yet again ? The lads showed great character, almost out on their feet defenders like David Murphy, Paudie O Keefe and Fionn Murphy took the fight to Newcastle West. Danny Holton squeezed over a super equaliser, it looked like penalties could be on the cards.
However Newcastle West again took the lead, try as we might we could not grab a deserved equaliser.
The players put in a huge effort during the year in both codes and must be commended.
Our management team worked really hard, as did Mairead at first aid and Garry on equipment.
In this dark days during Covid 19 the team provided fabulous entertainment to our loyal supporters.
Team Pearse Close, Shane Smalle, Paudie O Keefe, David Murphy, Daniel Gleeson, Fionn Murphy, James Daly, Sean O Dea, Paudie Ahern, Jack Franklin, Denny Ahern, Christopher O Dea, Danny Holton, Willie O Keefe, Denis O Dea.
Sub used James O Regan
Appreciation Wall
Our Project Appreciation Wall fundraiser is now up and running
This is your opportunity to become part of the club history by having you or your family name added to the Project Appreciation Wall which will be located upstairs in the new facility.
The cost of a name is €150, and you can support by donating on the GoFundMe link here – OR by contacting a member of the committee. Please help to spread the message far and wide & please support if you can.
Lotto Results
Draw made 28th September Numbers drawn 1, 16, 19, 24
No Winner
Lucky Dips: Anna Gleeson Mike Greene Nuala Dillon Jimmy Ryan
Sellers Prize: John O’Dea
Next Draw 5th October live on Facebook
Jackpot: €17,000
Tickets are on sale in Noreens Shop in Kilteely and Daybreak Dromkeen and from all lotto committee members.
Our online lotto is very popular and so easy to use. In just 4 simple steps and you can enter for 10, 25 or 52 weeks it also takes the work load off the committee members. You can play online, at the following link…/gaa-kilteely-dromkeen-gaa-club…/
Best of luck to everyone buying tickets and thanks your continued support