Kilteely Dromkeen GAA Club Notes:

Guess the Score:
Thanks to everyone that supported our Juvenile clubs ‘Guess the Scor’ fundraiser. Unfortunately, the final score of Limerick 0.30 – 2.15 KK produced no match. €603 has been raised in total to support the funding of juvenile equipment.

Brian Butler Cup Semi Final:
KD 1.14 – 0.18 Caherline in Caherconlish, 20th July 2023,
Hard luck to our adult hurlers last Thursday. In an exciting and physical game, we just came up short. Thanks to the East board for these games which have served as great prep for championship. Thanks to all supporters on the night and wishing Denis O’Dea a swift recovery.
Team: Jack Donie Franklin, James O’Regan, Paudie Ahern, Sean O’Dea; Keelan O Dea, James Dalaigh, Danny Holton; Robbie Holmes, Matthew O’Dea; Charlie Holmes, Darragh Carrol, Denny Ahern; David Hannon, Denis O’Dea, Darren Murphy; Diarmuid Murphy, John Ahern, Jamie McCarthy, Jamie Kiely, Christy O’Dea, Matthew Hanley.
All in the club wish U17 player, Tristan Cosgrave, the very best in his recovery from a hip injury sustained last week.

Luimneach ABÚ:
Congrats to the Limerick Senior Hurlers and all the management and backroom group on winning their 4th All Ireland in a row. Huge congrats especially to Denny Ahern and Conor Ahern on the stats team as well as Eibhear O’Dea as Logistics officer and kitman Ger O’Connell of Pallasgreen.

RIP TED O’DEA – Life President
On Sunday night after watching this great Limerick team win once again, our club life president Ted O’Dea passed away peacefully. More details to follow on our socials and Our deepest sympathies to Ted’s family and many friends.
A guard of honour takes place tonight Tuesday at our club grounds at 8.30pm.
Funeral mass takes place in Kilteely at 11.30am.
Ted O’Dea gave great service to the Kilteely-Dromkeen GAA Club over the decades, playing hurling and football with the Junior teams in the 1940s and 1950s, before becoming involved in an administrative capacity for more than three decades.
He was listed at full-forward on the Kilteely junior hurling side of 1949 which defeated Ardpatrick in the South Junior Hurling Championship by 2-2 to 0-4. They then drew with Bruff in the next round on scoreline of 2-4 each before narrowly losing the replay. He was a selector with the Kilteely-Dromkeen senior hurling team that contested two divisional finals in 1977 and 1978, and subsequently had close calls against Patrickswell and Killeedy in the county championships.
He was chairman of the club for eight seasons from 1981 to 1988 which included the centenary year celebrations of 1984 and the emergence of a series of strong football sides that brought the first championship titles to the club in that code. He then moved over to serve as club treasurer for 9 of the following 10 years from 1989 to 1998, a period which saw a county junior football championship win in 1989, with three of his sons featuring on the panel. He has been a long-serving life-president of the club since this period.
It was through his initiative in the mid-1980s that a field committee was set up with the aim of purchasing a suitable playing field to serve the growing needs of the club. The first permanent home for the parish clubs was acquired in 1987 and quickly developed to provide a firm base for the fine facilities that Ted was so proud of now.
Over time he served as both chairman and treasurer of this committee. He then put in many long hours of hands-on work to develop and improve the newly acquired facilities, improving the surface along with building the dressing rooms and field enclosure.
He recalled that some of his proudest moments with Kilteely-Dromkeen included 1989 when the junior footballers won that county title and in 1994 when Limerick played Galway in a senior hurling tournament at Kilteely to mark the opening of the new field. Of course he was also delighted to see his son Noel become club chairman in 2019.
All of Ted’s family have been involved in one way or another with the club, both on the playing field and in the committee rooms.
They continue to give a huge amount of their time and efforts voluntarily to this club and community and hand on this tradition to the next generation.
Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam dilis.

Club Lotto:
17th July 2023
No winner.
Lucky Dip: Brid Ryan, Chris Alymer, Danny Keogh, Sheila Daly.
Sellers Prize: William Ryan,
Next Draw: 9pm, 25th July, Idler Bar, Knockane,
Tickets are on sale for just €2 at Noreen’s Shop in Kilteely, Daybreak Dromkeen and from all lotto committee members.
You can play online at the following link…/gaa-kilteely-dromkeen-gaa-club…/
Best of luck to everyone buying tickets and thanks for your continued support.

Up for the Match:
Some sharp eyed viewers spotted the Baskethill and Ballinlough takeover on ‘Up for the match’ on RTE.
No better crew to sort RTE out, Cedric and Finbar Laffan, Shaunagh and Micheala O’Neill 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
We also enjoyed Richie McAuliffe’s video from Vietnam that was also shown on the show and so did Buff Egan!