John the Baptist CS Hospital land Harty Cup quarter-final spot with win over Templemore:

By John Keogh Limerick Leader Sport

JOHN THE BAPTIST Community School, Hospital are into the 2023/24 Harty Cup quarter-finals following a stunning 3-21 to 3-17 win over Our Lady’s Templemore in Fethard this Wednesday afternoon.

The Limerick school came out on top of an exhilarating contest that was level nine times with Owen Meany’s goal from a long range free giving them breathing space in added time.

Hospital had outstanding performances all over the field but the 0-6 scored from play by Diarmuid Hurley helped them come back from a five-point deficit 10 minutes into the second half.

Hugh Murnane’s second goal brought them to within two points and they never looked back from when Shane Ryan put them into the lead with 52 minutes played.

Hurley had a goal chance on 18 seconds but was denied by a sharp Mikey Ryan save before Meany put them in front with a free that was soon followed up by Sean Casey’s first of the game.

Jamie Ormond hit back with a free for Templemore but Hospital were soon back in control when Murnane latched onto Hugh Flanagan’s delivery before rifling a shot high into the net.

Shay Gleeson responded for Templemore and they were soon back on level terms when Sean Stapleton grabbed an Ormond long range free before flicking into the Hospital goal from close range.

Another goal arrived for Templemore on 18 minutes when another boomer from Ormond found it’s way to the net. That put the Tipperary school 2-2 to 1-3 ahead.

Points from Flanagan and Charlie Cronin squared the game up for a second time and then Hurley was denied for a second time by Ryan with another fine save. Murnane pointed from the rebound.

Meany and Casey scored either side of Ormond landing one for Templemore, before a third goal arrived for the Tipperary school. A puck-out was collected by Ciaran O’Shea on the Hospital ’65 and he then sailed through the defence before burying an unstoppable shot passed Lorcan Costelloe.

Hospital immediately hit back with a Hurley point but efforts from Ciaran O’Shea and two from Ormond helped Templemore to a 3-6 to 1-11 half time advantage.

Hurley levelled the game for a sixth time 18 seconds into the second half but his effort was soon cancelled out by Joey Quinn, before Mean had it level once more.

However, Templemore took control for the next while with Ormond to the fore. The Tipperary minor hit four of the next five points, Michael Cahill the other, to put his side five in front.

The game turned on it’s head on 45 minutes with Murnane landing his second goal, this time benefitting from Barry Callinan’s delivery.

Hurley then landed another excellent point from play before Flanagan had the game level once more. Declan Heavey then gave Hospital the lead score but that was soon cancelled out by O’Shea for Templemore.

The Hospital train could not be stopped in the final 10 minutes with Ryan, two from Hurley and Meany’s late goal seeeing them to victory.

SCORERS – JOHN THE BAPTIST CS, HOSPITAL: Owen Meaney 1-6 (1-5 frees, ’65), Hugh Murnane 2-2, Diarmuid Hurley 0-6, Sean Casey and Hugh Flanagan 0-2 each, Charlie Cronin, Declan Heavey 0-1 and Shane Ryan 0-1 each.

SCORERS – OUR LADY’S TEMPLEMORE: Jamie Ormond 1-9 (1-5 frees), Ciaran O’Shea 1-3, Sean Stapleton 1-0, Eoin Boyle 0-2, Shay Gleeson, Michael Cahill and Joey Quinn 0-1 each.

JOHN THE BAPTIST CS, HOSPITAL: Lorcan Costelloe (Hospital-Herbertstown); Niall McNamara (Pallasgreen), Shane Treacy (Staker Wallace), Michael Leo (Knockiney; Declan Heavey (Garryspillane), Sean Casey (Bruff), Fionnan Leahy (Knockainey); Owen Meany (Bruff), Griffin McCaffrey (Hospital-Herbertstown); Barry Callinan (Bruff) Hugh Flanagan (Garryspillane), Shane Ryan (Garryspillane); Charlie Cronin (Bruff), Diarmuid Hurley (Hospital-Herbertstown), Hugh Murnane (Caherline).

SUBS: Jack O’Neill (Bruff) for Callinan (46 mins), Niall Connaughton (Caherline) for McCaffrey (59 mins).

OUR LADY’S TEMPLEMORE: Mikey Ryan (Loughmore-Castleiney); Tommy Burke (JK Brackens), Cormac Cahill (Drom-Inch), Eoin Kennedy (Drom-Inch); TJ Kinnane (Drom-Inch), Tom Corcoran (JK Brackens), Shay Gleeson (Clonakenny-Moneygall); Michael Cahill (JK Brackens), Jamie Ormond (JK Brackens); J Marnell (JK Brackens), Ciaran O’Shea (JK Brackens), Eoin Boyle (Borrisoleigh); Joey Quinn (Loughmore-Castleiney), Sean Stapleton (Clonakenny-Moneygall), Phillip O’Dwyer (Upperchurch-Drombane).
SUBS: Kieran Martin (JK Brackens) for Burke (54 mins).

REFEREE: John Bugler (Clare).