Heartbreak for UL as Sigerson dream ends in extra-time:

By John Keogh Limerick Leader Sport

UL’S HOPES of winning their first ever Sigerson Cup were dashed in extra-time with UCC earning a 1-16 to 0-16 at the SETU Waterford Campus.

Declan Brouder’s side worked dilligintly to get back into the game after Dylan Geaney’s early goal and led by two-points with 13 minutes remaining but the Cork college just edged the final.

Geaney’s early goal was met with two Paul Keaney frees by UL but UCC then kicked things up a notch with points from Cathal O’Mahony, Geaney and Mark Cronin.

Killian Falvey then increased the lead to five before UL got back on track through Emmet McMahon. Darragh Cashman and Ciarán Downes scores then had the UCC advantage down to two.

Fionn Herlihy stemmed the tide for UCC but UL went in at the break trailing by two after Keaney’s third free of the half. The score at 1-5 to 0-6 in favour of Billy Morgan’s Cork outfit.

UCC edged the early stages of the second half with three in a row but that stunned UL into action as they kicked the next seven points to go in front for the first time.

Geaney and Cronin soon had UCC level and the sides went point for point for the remainder of the game. UCC sub Michael O’Shea looked to have won it but Darragh Cashman’s second point for UL saw them force extra time on a 0-15 to 1-12 scoreline.

UCC dominated extra time, however, with Fionn Herlihy, Sean O’Connor and Cronin putting them in firm control. McMahon’s fourth of the game gave UL hope going into the second extra period.

But it was UCC that got the only score in that time with Geaney nailing a simple free to see them to a three-point winning margin.

Scorers – UL: Emmet McMahon 0-4, Paul keaney 0-3 (3 frees), Darragh Cashman, Ciarán Downes and Jack Coyne 0-2, Eoghan McLaughlin, Mark Lenehan and Jack Glynn 0-1 each.

UL: Conor Flaherty (Claregalway-Carnmore, Galway); Colm Moriarty (Annascaul, Kerry), Jack Glynn (Claregalway, Galway), Jack O’Brien (Durrow, Offaly); Darragh Cashman (Millstreet, Cork); Jack Coyne (Ballyhaunis, Mayo), Eoghan McLaughlin (Westport, Mayo); Ikem Uguweru (Eire Og Ennis, Clare), Daniel Walsh (Kilmurry-Ibrickane, Clare); Ciarán Downes (Kilmihil, Clare), Emmet McMahon (Kildysart, Clare), Paul Keaney (St Mary’s Kiltoghert, Leitrim); John Hayes (St Kieran’s, Limerick), Aaron Griffin (Lissycasey, Clare), Mark Lenehan (Buttevant, Cork).

Subs: Paul Walsh (Brosna, Kerry) for Hayes (h-t), Sean McDonnell (Buttevant, Cork) for Ugwueru (35 mins), Brian McNamara (Cooraclare, Clare) for O’Brien (38 mins), Frank Irwin (Ballina Stephenites, Mayo) for Lenehan (47 mins), Connell Dempsey (Knockmore, Mayo) for Keaney (58 mins), David Mangan (Laune Rangers, Kerry) for Griffin (e-t), Cian Glennon (St Faithleach’s, Roscommon) for Daniel Walsh (68 mins), Gearóid Hassett (Laune Rangers, Kerry) for McDonnell (h-t, e-t), Seán O’Leary (Kilcummin, Kerry) for Coyne (75 mins).