County, Divisional and Club Officer 1975
The following is a record of officers who guided Limerick GAA at County, Divisional and Club Level 46 years ago in 1975.
County Board Officers 1975
Chairman Rory Kiely, Feenagh-Kilmeedy. Vice Chairman John Whelan, Newcastle West. Treasurer Declan Moylan, Claughaun. Secretary Tom Boland, Patrickswell. Assistant Secretary Mick Tynan, Claughaun. Registrar Tommy Healy, Adare. Youth Officer Rev. Brother PP Gutherie, Old Christians. Central Council Representative Paddy Ryan, Galbally. Munster Council Representatives Mick Mackey, Ahane, Tom Boland, Secretary, Patrickswell.
The above officers together with one representative of each (senior club only) plus representative of each Divisional Board constitutes the County Board which met on the second Tuesday of each month at 18 Thomas Street, Limerick at 8pm.
County Bord na nOg Officers 1975
Chairman Rev. John Ryan CC, Bruff. Vice-Chairman Paddy Quilligan, St. Patrick’s, Jim Kirby, Murroe, Seamus Sexton, Bruree, Johnny Kenney, St. Mary’s Rathkeale. Secretary Sean Murphy, Old Christians. Treasurer Jim Collins, Fr. Casey’s, Abbeyfeale. Registrar Jim Kirby, Murroe.
West Board Officers 1975
Chairman Timmy Woulfe, Athea. Vice-Chairmen Johnny Kennedy, St. Mary’s Rathkeale and Danny Hourigan, Ballingarry. Secretary John Whelan, Newcastle West. Assistant Secretary/Registrar Paddy Browne, Ballingarry. Treasurers Eddie Corbett, Askeaton and Pat Condon, Newcastle West.
West Bord na nOg Officers 1975
Chairman Johnny Kennedy, St. Mary’s Rathkeale. Vice Chairman Pat Dondon, Newcastle West. Secretary Paddy Browne, Ballingarry. Treasurer Liam Lenihan, Croagh-Kilfinny.
West Board Club Secretaries 1975
Eamon Ryan, Adare, John J. Fitzgerald, Ardagh, Doney Nestor, Askeaton, Seán Liston, Athea, Danny Hourigan, Ballingarry, Seán Neenan, Broadford, Seán Sheehan, Feohanagh-Castlemahon, James Lenihan, Croagh-Kilfinny, Seamus Lordan, Dromcollogher, Rev. C. O’Neill, Fr. Casey’s Abbeyfeale, Jim Long, Feenagh-Kilmeedy, Thomas Hayes, Gerald Griffins, Doney Enright, Glin, Seán Cagney, Granagh, John Maher, Kilcornan, John Magner, Killeedy, Mark Sheehy, Knockaderry, Seamus Flanagan, Monagea, Laurence Begley, Mountcollins, Michael Nash, Newcastle West, P. Costelloe, Pallaskenry, Tim Crowley, St. Kiernan’s, Pa Wilmott, St. Mary’s Rathkeale, Pat Lane, St. Senan’s, Sean Hartnett, Tournafulla.
South Board Officers 1975
Chairman Frank Green, Dromin-Athlacca. Vice-Chairmen PJ Cussen, Galbally, Christy Farrell, Castletown-Ballyagran and Seamus Sexton, Bruree. Secretary Jimmy Hickey, Banogue. Treasurer Denis Barrett, Bruff. Registrar John Finucane, Bruff.
South Bord na nÓg Officer 1975
Chairman Rev. John Ryan CC Castletown-Ballyagran. Vice-Chairman Michael Russell, Glenroe. Secretary Liam Allen, Galtee Gaels. Treasurer D. Ryan, Stakers. Registrar PJ O’Donnell, Effin. PRO Harry Greensmyth, Na Fianna.
South Board Club Secretaries 1975
Peter O’Sullivan, Ballylaners, Pat Carroll, Banogue, Tommy Gubbins, Bruff, Mick Sexton, Bruree, Pat O’Connor, Camogue Rovers, Pat McElligott, Castletown-Ballyagran, Jerry Murray, Croom, John Reidy, Dromin-Athlacca, William Magner, Effin, Mick Hennebry, Galbally, John Barry, Galtee Gaels, Sean Burke, Garryspillane, Michael J. Hennesy, Glenroe, Michael J Hanley, Kilfinane, Pat Ryan, Knockainey, Edward Fitzgerald, Kilmallock, Maurice Tierney, Na Fianna, David Ryan, Stakers.
East Board Officers 1975
Chairman Eddie Wade, South Liberties. Vice-Chairmen Jim Kirby, Murroe and James Ryan, Cappamore. Secretary Jacky McGrath, Doon. Treasurer Frank Moore, Caherline. Registrar John O’Donovan, Oola.
East Bord na nÓg Officers 1975
Chairman James Kirby, Murroe. Vice-Chairmen Johnny Burke, Doon and Jim Madden, South Liberites. Secretary Nicholas Cafferty, Cappamore. Treasurer Tom Ryan, Pallasgreen.
East Board Club Secretaries 1975
Arthur Graham, Ahane, Pat Hourigan, Caherline, Richard Devane, Cappamore, Brendan Crehan, Ballybricken, Patrick O’Connor, Boher, John Fahy, Doon, Gerard J. Gleeson, Fedamore, James Breen, Kilteely-Dromkeen, Michael Breen, Knockane, Eamonn Rainsford, Murroe, David Quirke, Oola, Tom Ryan, Pallaskenry, James Madden, South Liberties.
City Board Officers 1975
Chairman Christy Murphy, Monaleen. Vice-Chairman Joe O’Brien, Claughaun. Secretary Jimmy Hartigan, Ballybrown. Assist Secretary Tom O’Brien, Ballybrown. Treasurer Ned Whelan, Old Christians. Registrar Willie Foley, Patrickswell.
City Bord na nÓg Officers 1975
Chairman Paddy Quiligan, St. Patrick’s. Vice-Chairman and Acting Secretary Moss O’Grady, Na Piarsaigh. Treasurer Peadar McCartney, Na Piarsaigh. Registrar Jack Molyneux, Claughaun.
City Board Club Secretaries 1975
Peter Carroll, Ballybrown, Declan Moylan, Claughaun, Des Mansfield, Commericals, John O’Dwyer, Corbally, Michael McNamara, Crecora, John Clifford, Kildimo, Willie Coffey, Monaleen, Pat O’Brien, Mungret, Larry McCarthy, NCPE, Tom McInerney, Na Piarsaigh, Ned Whelan, Old Christians, Bernard Hayes, Patrickswell, Vivian Cobbe, St. Patrick’s, Michael Twomey, South Hill, Pat Dawson, Treaty Sarsfield, Denis Mansfield, Youth Ireland’s.
Secretaries Affiliated to City Bord na nÓg only
Gerry Bromell, Garryowen, Rev. Brother MJ Keane, St. Mary’s Limerick City.
County Inter Firm GAA Board 1975
Chairman Dave Spaight????. Vice-Chairman Tom Coffey. Secretary John O’Grady. Treasurer Walter Shanahan. Registrar Harry Cox. PRO Jack Hennessy.
County GAA Referees Association
Chairman Seán O’Connor, Claughaun. Secretary Seán O’Grady, Patrickswell. Treasurer Jack Quaid, Feohanagh-Castlemahon. Committee Members Pat Lane, Foynes, Pat McCarthy, Banogue, Willie Hayes, Pallasgreen.
County Camogie Board Officer 1975
Chairman Rev. John Ryan CC Bruff. Vice-Chairman Harry Greensmyth, Herbertstown. Secretary Mrs Anne Meaney, Hospital. Treasurer Miss Lizzie O’Dea, Croagh-Kilfinny. Assistant Treasurer Miss Geraldine O’Brien, Ballyagran.
County Handball Officers 1975
Chairman Moss Hennessy, Cappagh. Vice-Chairman Johnny Hartnett, Ballyingarry. Secretary Michael ?????, Cappagh. PRO Tony Hayes, Cappagh.
GAA Museum Virtual Book Club
While it’s not possible to visit the GAA Museum or its library and archives in person right now, you can still learn more about gaelic games and the history of the association by becoming a member of their new Virtual GAA Museum Book Club. Each month the GAA Museum team will chose a well-known GAA book to read and review. At the end of the month, the museum will host a free online interview with the author in which members can submit questions and comments. The ambition of the book club is to review some of the great GAA books and to give us all a much-needed sporting boost as we all stay at home. You can find out more and how to get involved via the following link:w h