Goals see Limerick ladies footballers to second league win:

By John Keogh Limerick Leader Sport

LIMERICK’S ladies footballers earned their second win in as many games in the LIDL LGFA Football League Division 4 on a 3-6 to 0-8 scoreline over Wicklow in Baltinglass.

An Anna O’Dea first half goal and one each after the break by Cathy Mee and Clare O’Meara fired Limerick to a win over their hosts. They play Leitrim at home this Sunday and a win would ensure their spot in the league semi-finals.

Marie Kealy had Wicklow in front early doors but O’Dea’s cool finish for Limerick’s first goal put them into the lead that they were never going to relinquish.

Limerick captain Roisin Ambrose then followed up with two excellent points from play that saw her side into 1-2 to 0-1 advantage with 10 minutes on the clock.

Mungret St Pauls’ Clare O’Meara then increased Limerick’s lead to five points before Kealy and Clodagh Fox stemmed the tide for Wicklow.

However, it was Limerick that finished the half on the positive note when Andrea O’Sullivan’s free saw them 1-4 to 0-4 to the good at the break.

Wicklow started the second half with two Kealy frees but Limerick effectively sewed the game up when a superb team moved ended with Mee firing in their second goal.

Lauren Ryan then got in on the act for Graham Shine’s sides before the game was wrapped up with Limerick’s third goal courtesy of O’Meara.

Limerick now play Leitrim at home this coming Sunday, February 19 at the Bog Garden, Rathkeale at 2pm, as Shine looks to guide the team to their second league final in succession.

Scorers – Limerick: Clare O’Meara 1-1, Anna O’Dea and Cathy Mee 1-0 each, Roisin Ambrose 0-3, Andrea O’Sullivan (1 free) and Lauren Ryan 0-1 each.

LIMERICK: Carol Bateman (Mungret St Paul’s); Fiona Bradshaw (Oola), Yvonne Lee (Monagea), Meadbh McNamara (St Ailbe’s); Clare O’Meara (Mungret St Paul’s), Leah Coughlan (Oola), Deborah Murphy (Monagea); Grace Lee (Monagea),Roisin Ambrose (Old Mill); Lauren Ryan (Adare), Andrea O’Sullivan (Ballylanders), Kaite Heelan (St Ailbe’s); Anna O’Dea (Oola), Cathy Mee (Ballylanders), Karen O’Leary (Monagea).

Subs Used: Sophie Hennessy (Old Mill), Kate Kennedy (St Ailbe’s) Lauren Stack (Dromcolloger-Broadford), Ellie Woulfe (Monagea), Rose Hyland (Ballylanders), Caoimhe McGrath (Fr Casey’s), Laoise Browne (Ballylanders), Amy Ryan (Oola), Sarah Dillon (Pallasgreen).