Griffins Coaches County Intermediate Football Championship – Gerald Griffin’s vs. Pallasgreen
Team: Brian Scanlon, Paudie O’Connell, Brian Long, Diarmuid Noonan, Paul Brouder, Jim Liston, Colm McSweeney, John McCoy, Dara Noonan (0-08), Aidan Ryan(0-01), Micheál Thornton(0-01), Jamie Long, Adrian O’Sullivan (1-00), Gerard Stack (1-06), Hugh O’Donnell. Subs: Michael John Ambrose, Connor O’Shaughnessy, Shane Cregan
It was very much a one-sided game with a score of 2-07 (Gerald Griffin’s) to 0-01 (Pallasgreen) by the first water break. The first goal was scored by Adrian O’Sullivan and the second by Gerard Stack. The second quarter started with another point for Griffin’s. Some strong pressure from the backs lead to another wide for Pallasgreen, soon followed by a great save from Brian Scanlon. Half-time score was 2-11 to 0-02. The second half was low-scoring from both teams. Griffin’s moved the ball well but got few enough points in the end. Our defence was good and only 2 points were scored again by Pallasgreen in the second half.
Full time score: Gerald Griffin’s 2-16 to 0-04 Pallasgreen.
Shannon Gaels vs Knockaderry U/19
Last game for our u/19 Shannon Gaels v Knockaderry. Shannon Gaels started the stronger of the two teams, with Zach Behan and Donagh McEnery causing the Knockaderry defence a lot of problems early on. Shannon Gaels leading by 3 after the first quarter. After the water break saw Knockaderry grow into the game. A goal and two points in quick succession just before halftime saw the home team lead by 5 at the break. The lads fought hard in the second half and played excellent football. Mike O Shea and Gearoid Woulfe provided stability that allowed Conor Shine and Hugh O Donnell to move the ball into our forwards quickly, with Donagh capitalising and getting his second goal. Unfortunately, we were beaten on the day, but our young team showed great attitude and gave it their all until the final whistle. Without a doubt they are a team with great potential and gained great experience that will benefit them in their future campaigns.
1. Aidan Fogarty
2. Ciaran Macnamara
3. Mike O’Shea
4. Martin Macnamara
5. Maurice Fitzgerald
6. Conor Shine
7. Harry Tobin
8. Hugh O’Donnell
9. Gearoid Woulfe
10. Breean Cunningham
11. Padraic O’Connor
12. Sean Moore
13. Cormac Thompson
14. Donagh Mcenery
15. Zach Behan
Subs: Conor Woulfe, Billy Hogan, Sean Adam’s
Well done to Joe Stack and Aidan Mulvihill for looking after the team.
Club Limerick Draw
Congratulations to all the winners of the August club Limerick draw. The next draw will take place September 25th. The exclusive prize for next month is an iPad, along with all the cash prizes. You can join at the following link or contact any of our officers – Gerard Reidy (0872582963), Pakie Hayes (0879126934) or Teresa Cregan-Stack (0876111543).
Sincere sympathy
The Club would like to offer our sincere sympathy to Paddy Lane, Jackie and Paddy’s extended family on the recent passing of his sister Catherine Lane in Sunderland UK. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a h-anam dílis.
We would like to extend our sympathy to Pat and Peggy Scanlan, Fleanbeg and all the Scanlan family on the recent passing of Michael “Mike” Scanlon, U.S. Army Veteran, born in Ballyhahill, Co. Limerick, Ireland, passed away on August 16, 2021. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam dílis.