The Galbally GAA Golf Classic, run and co-ordinated as a joint effort with Galbally Golf Society, to whom we are extremely grateful, was a huge success in Friday last. It has proven to be an excellent fundraiser and has exceeded all expectations. We would like to thank Marian Riordan and all the staff at Ballykisteen Golf and Leisure Hotel. The Golf Course was in immaculate condition and the restaurant food was excellent. The event would not have been possible without the incredibly hard working golf committee. Seamie and Johnny Morrissey will be returning favours all year, such was their effort in recruiting teams and sponsors for the event. Treasurer Brian Chaplin organised the tee-box times professionally and kept a watchful eye on the finances. Joe McGrath and Declan Wallace made huge contributions. Mairead Morrissey and Fiona Kiely gave up their day to ensure the smooth running of the event and were highly professional. Denis Ryan co-ordinated the event masterfully and secured the main sponsor ITW Construction Products Europe.

Along with our main sponsor, we also received generous support from over 50 local businesses whom we would sincerely like to thank and who we would encourage you all to support as they keep a rural community thriving. We would not have had any competition without the participating teams and we hope it will be the start of a prosperous golfing year for you all. We would like to thank everyone from Galbally GAA who assisted, especially Bill Cussen, Ger Cussen, Karen O’Dea and Tom Casey who also secured a number of tee-box sponsors. Our winners on the day were – 1st Prize: Philip O’Sullivan, Willie Feely, Robert Bailey , 2nd Prize: Andy Bowler, James O’Keeffe, Michael Richardson, 3rd Prize: Gerry Morrissey, Francis Fitzgerald, Joby Ryan. Nearest to the Pin: Ciaran Ryan. Longest Drive: Eileen Ryan.

The Galbally Under 12 team played Monaleen last week. The Squad was Paul Fenton , Dylan Taylor, James Hanrahan , Cathal McGuire, Phillip Ryan, Bill Crawford , Jamie O’Shea, Paul McGrath, James Gallagher, Ciaran Hyland, Tiernan Ryan, Oran Sheedy, John Lees , Shane McCarthy. Ciaran Hyland scored an excellent point, and Oran Sheedy slotted him a great goal. The Bord Na nOg church gate collection will take place on Saturday and Sunday next 10th and 11th May.

Mike Donovan will be with the Limerick Senior Footballers this weekend as they face Tipperary in the Munster Football Championship on Saturday night in Semple Stadium Thurles. We wish him well.

The Latest Split the Pot Winner was Joby Ryan of Tipperary Town, adding to his third place finish in the Galbally GAA Golf Classic. He won €360. Next draw in Joe’s – Abbey Bar Saturday night 11th May.

PHOTOGRAPH : : The First Place representative at the Galbally GAA Golf Classic, Philip O’Sullivan receiving his prize from Seamie Morrissey and Denis Ryan

Image may contain: 3 people, people smiling, people standing and indoor