Cork test up first for Shane Dowling’s Limerick minor hurlers:

By Siadbh Redmond Limerick Leader Sport

SHANE Dowling’s Limerick minor hurling squad will take to the field for the first time this season against Cork this Thursday, April 11, in SuperValu Páirc Uí Chaoimh at 7pm. The Rebels have already gotten their Munster Championship underway with a defeat to Tipperary last week.

Manager of the Limerick minor hurling team Dowling said that a trip to Cork is a ‘daunting’ task for a young team, but insists his team is ready for the assignment.

“Cork have a game under their belt and we will be going into this game slightly cold, but we will see what happens. Preparations have gone well, but a trip to Cork is never ideal and it will be a tough game down in Cork but we are happy with where we are.

“Thankfully we have no injuries coming into this game after starting training with the squad back in November, so we have the full 34 compliment of players to pick from for this game against Cork.”

Joint-Captain Jack Cosgrave is the remaining player from the 2023 Minor squad who lost out in the semi-final of the championship to Clare, 2-21 to 2-15. Dowling and his management team will be hoping to get this year’s campaign off to a strong start as the games come thick and fast.

“We have told the lads it’s a marathon, not a sprint and we have at least four games to play yet but all concentration is on Cork and then we will rejig for Waterford then.”

Limerick Minor Hurling Team to face Cork: Cathal Dennehy (Glenroe), Denis Blackwell (Ahane), Daithi Dennehy (Glenroe), Conor Ryan (Ahane), Eoin Brosnan (Na Piarsaigh), Gavin Dorgan (Monagea), Gearoid Enright (Kilmallock), Liam O’ Connor (Templeglantine), Jack Cosgrave (Ahane) (Joint Captain), Patrick Cagney (Feohanagh), Eoghan Maher (Monaleen), Patrick Kearney (Adare), Danny Sheehan (Na Piarsaigh), Diarmuid Hurley (Hospital/Herberstown) (Joint Captain), Malachy McKenna (Pallasgreen).

Subs: Conor Crowley (Mungret/St Pauls), Rory Hanly (Ballybricken/Bohermore), Tommie Cusack (Murroe/Boher), Jack Fitzgerald (Bruff), Paul Murphy (Castletown/Ballyagran), John O’ Connor (Ahane), Eamon Richardson (Doon), Adam Frewen (Glenroe), Conor Ryan (Adare)