Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup Q-Finals: UL edge out DCU:

Electric Ireland Sigerson Cup

University of Limerick 0-14 Dublin City University 1-10

By Tom Clancy at University of Limerick

In another tense and high quality Sigerson Cup clash, University of Limerick reached the last four for the third year on the bounce, at the expense of a valiant DCU.

Played in dry, calm conditions at the Limerick University, the winners were never behind in a game that DCU may feel they could have pushed beyond the 60 minutes at the very least.

However, each time the Dublin outfit flirted with the idea of stealing the lead, the winners had a trio of points and reasserted control. Despite a second half goal from Senan Baker, DCU just didn’t create the openings to win this clash.

UL, perhaps more wasteful in front of goal, did possess the greater attacking spread. Early scores from Frank Irwin, Ciaran Downes and Daniel Walsh were helpful in establishing a 0-5 to no score lead.

However, the boys in yellow dragged the gap back to a point, 0-7 to 0-6 at the change of ends. Shane O’Donnell (3), Matthew Costello and Joe Hagan ending some fine team moves where they played with more pace than seen in the opening quarter hour.

Bakers goal tied this contest up, after UL withstood a black card to Mark Dempsey, but Jack Keaney helped push the gap out to 0-13 to 1-7 in the closing stages. DCU did get it to a point, as Kevin Quinn was on target. He soon hit the crossbar when looking for a 59th minute leveller.

UL, though, used their experience to force a two-point margin, meaning DCU hunted a goal which didn’t come, instead settling for a pointed free from Shane Walsh.

There was relief at full-time for UL, who also won by just a point in the last round. **

Scorers for University of Limerick:** Jack Keaney 0-5 (0-4 frees); Frank Irwin 0-3; Ciaran Downes 0-2; Daniel Walsh, Cian Glennon, Sean McDonnell, Cian O’Grady 0-1 each.

Scorers for Dublin City University: Senan Baker 1-1; Shane O’Donnell 0-3; Shane Walsh 0-2 (frees); Matthew Costello, Ruairi Keane, Joe Hagan, Kevin Quinn 0-1 each.

University of Limerick: Conor Flaherty (Claregalway, Galway); Colm Moriarty (Annascaul, Kerry), Mark Dempsey (C) (Moorefiled, Kildare), Caelim Keogh (Padraig Pearses, Roscommon); Darragh Cashman (Millstreet, Cork), Cian Glennon (St Faithleach’s, Roscommon), Daniel Walsh (Kilmurry Ibrickane, Clare); Cathal Ryan (Rathmore, Kerry), Brian McNamara (Cooraclare, Clare); Frank Irwin (Ballina Stephanites, Mayo), Paul Keaney (St. Mary’s, Leitrim), Sean McDonnell (Mallow, Cork); Paul Walsh (Brosna, Kerry), Jack McCabe (Corofin, Galway), Ciaran Downes (Kilmihill, Clare).

Subs: Eliah O’Riordan (Fr. Casey’s, Limerick) for Glennon (43); Cian McHale (Moy Davitts, Mayo) for McDonnell (46); Luke Murphy (Cullen, Cork) for P Walsh (51); Cian O’Grady (Castlegregory, Kerry) for McCabe (60), Jack Fallon (Mayo Gales) for Downes (62).

Dublin City University: Cian McGuinness (Longford Slashers, Longford); Bryan Masterson (Abbeylara, Longford), Jamie Grant (Termon, Donegal), Seán Fitzgerald (Barna, Galway); Keelin McGann (Kenagh, Longford) Ruairi Keane (Mayo Gaels, Mayo), Joesph Hagan (Dromard, Longford); Matthew Costello (Dunshaughlin, Meath), Ryan Donohoe (Gowna, Cavan); Dean Robertson (Ballymun Kickhams, Dublin), Shane Walsh (Na Fianna, Meath), Shane O’Donnell (St. Eunan’s, Donegal); Paraic Hughes (Kilanerin, Wexford), Dylan McKeown (Dundalk Gaels, Louth), Cian Hughes (Kilanerin, Wexford).

Subs: K Quinn (Blessington, Wicklow) for Donohue, Senan Baker (Caulry, Westmeath) for C Hughes (both 39).

Referee: David Murnane (Cork)