South Junior B Football Championship R2
Team: Stephen o Connell, Daniel Clifford, Timmy O Sullivan, Karl O Regan, Patsy Punch, Mikey Collins, Thomás O Donnell, Peadar McCarthy, Tadhg McCarthy, Dean Byrne, Kevin Hogan, David Dooley, Con O Callaghan, Anthony Punch, Pete O Connor. Subs: Ger Kelliher For Mikey Collins, Anthony Dawson for David Dooley
Scorers: Anthony Punch: 0-04 Dean Byrne: 1-00 Peter O Connor: 0-03 Stephen O Connell: 0-03(2 frees,1 from a 45) Kevin Hogan; 0-02 Peadar McCarthy: 0-01 .
There was a strong cross wind that slightly favoured The Rovers in the first half and Peter O Connor opened the scoring after 3 mins with a point from play. Banogue opened their account with a point from a free after 6 mins. Dean Byrne replied with a goal from play followed by 5 unanswered points to give the Rovers a 1-06 0-01 lead after 23 mins. Banogue put up another point from a 45 on 28 mins and after a bit of sustained pressure scored a goal on the stroke of half time to leave the score Banogue 1-02 Rovers 1-06.
Rovers started the second half with another point from Anthony Punch and Banogue responded with a point and a goal from play to leave 3 point in it. Kevin Hogan put over another point to steady the ship followed by a 45 from Stephen O Connell. Banogue got the next point. Banogue and Rovers traded 2 more point each to finish what was a good sporting match to finish on a score line of Banogue 2-06 Camogue Rovers 1-13.
Our next match is against Ballylanders in Meanus on Tuesday 1st Sept and the Hurlers are out the following Tuesday 9th against Athlacca also in Meanus. Both matches throw in @6.30.