Ballylanders GAA Club Notes:

League Champions:
Our Junior footballers claimed the Junior A league title as darkness fell in Ballyagran last Thursday night as extra time was needed to separate themselves from west Limerick side Mountcollins. The team showed great reresilience to get the win as they were met with setback after setback as key players such as Killian Lane & Pa Fox picked up injuries during normal time & when we were pegged back from been nine points ahead it looked like the team from the west had the momentum going into extra time. We settled in nice & quick with Peter Lane & Eamon O’Mahony on target early on & our pacey half back line were keeping the forwards supplied with plenty of possession & with full forward Kiearn O’Callaghan in fine kicking form we led at halftime by 0-8 to 0-5. Cillian O Brien got us off to the perfect start to the second half when he burst through the middle of the defence to rifle a shot to the roof of the net it looked like we were on the road to victory. Soon afterwards captain Pa Fox had to leave the field injured & this unsettled us & Mountcollins found their shooting boots to one by one peg us back. O Callaghan was keeping us in the game with important scores but at the final whistle the teams were level at 1-12 a piece. So came extra time & again after ten first half minutes the teams still couldn’t be separated, we had introduced Eoin Burchill to the attack & his height & strength were causing problems for their defender’s & with time running out he won a hard fought free which Kieran O’Callaghan duly accepted kicking his eleventh point of the game to secure the victory. There were great scenes of celebrations at the final whistle & there must of been some tried kids in school the following morning as the clock approached 10pm! Huge congratulations to the management team of Mark Lane, Tom (Tae) Fox & Shane Fox for having the team well drilled & ready for battle. We wish them the best of luck for the championship in the coming weeks. Team was ; Mark O’Callaghan, Pa Kelly, Enda O’ Neil, Tom Fitzgerald, Cillian O Brien (1-0), Patrick Fox, Seamus Ryan, Killian Lane, Dan Blade, Tom O’Dywer (0-1), Eamon O’Mahony (0-2), Adrian Cooke, Peter Lane (0-1), Kieran O’Callaghan (0-11), Tommy McDonnell. Subs used Eoin Burchill, Philip O’ Sullivan.

Senior Championship:
The Irish Wire Limerick senior football championship begins on this Friday night with a mouth watering fixture between ourselves & Galtee Gaels in Kilfinane with a 7:30pm throw in, tickets must be bought beforehand via the link in all our social media platforms. We wish the team & management the very best of luck for the season ahead.

Congratulations to the Glenroe U15’s who won the shield final at the Fèile last Saturday & wish the Ballylanders U15’s the best of luck in the Fèile Peil in Nenagh on Saturday July 1st.

(Picture) Ballylanders captain Patrick Fox receiving the Bon Secours sponsored Junior football trophy from Limerick Football Chairperson Wayne Fitzgerald last Thursday night