Athea GAA Club Notes:

Junior Ladies County Final:
Athea 2.4
Groody Gaels 1.3
The famine is over. After a 13 year wait Athea are County Champions again. Having lost 6 finals since; Senior 2012, 2014, Intermediate 2016, 2017, 2018 and Junior 2021 this 8 week wait since the postponed game on 22nd October only added to the anticipation. Their unbeaten run continued up to last Sunday where they had just 4 points to spare against a talented Monaleen / St Pats combination team Groody Gaels.
Athea played with the breeze in the first half but it was Groody that opened the scoring against the run of play with a well taken goal by Caoimhe Lyons. Athea soon settled and we’re rewarded after a great run by Carla Sheehy ended in the back of the net. Rebecca Collins at mid field also got on the score sheet along with well taken points by Noelle Curtain and Stephanie Woulfe. Athea led at the break 2.3 to 1.00 .
With the wind picking up and storm Fergus arriving in Martinstown for the second half Athea had to defend for their lives. Despite the constant pressure the defence held strong. With ten minutes left on the clock Aoife Curtin struck an all important point from the ground making it a two score game.
There were jubilant scenes as Rebekah Daly accepted the cup on behalf of the team with Michelle Curtin, a powerhouse at midfield receiving the player of the match award.
Huge credit to both teams for the performance in dreadful conditions.
Thanks to the huge support that made their way to Martinstown last Sunday.
The management team of Mike Reidy, David O’ Connor and Liz O’ Sullivan .
To the great bunch of players who have made huge sacrifices over the last 10 months.
Team: Sarah O’ Connor, Amy Ryan, Sinead Hunt, grace Hunt, Rebekah Daly, Grace Ryan, Maeve Carmody, Michelle Curtain, Rebecca Collins, Carla Sheehy, Stephanie Woulfe , Aoife Curtain, Aoife O’ Connor, Noelle, Curtain, Jackie Stackpoole, Mary Ita Casey, Molly Ahern, Brid Hunt, Molly Hunt, Isabelle Barrett, Rachel Greaney, Clare Carmody, Ciara Hunt, Maeve Murphy, Geraldine Carmody, Katie Bryne. Saorcha Fitzgerald, Ciara O’ Sullivan.
Huge thanks to the following for their support along the way.
To Dylan Griffins who started the girls S&C back in March.
To the gear sponsors of The Lab, Murphy Steel Construction and Sophia Rockford of Sophia’s Beauty, Abbeyfeale.
To the local business of O’ Riordan’s, Collins XL, Batts Bar, Whites Bar and Brown Joes for their continued support throughout the year.
And a final thank you to Sean Hennessys our team jersey sponsorship.

U21 Shannon Gaels Athea:
Oola 5:08 Shannon Gaels Athea 3:10
We made the long trek over to Oola to play the third round of the U21A Championship on Saturday. The pitch was in very good order and the heavy showers just before the throw in thankfully moved on with just a slight breeze to contend with during the game.
The game was nip and tuck for the first 10 mins despite us having conceded a goal we were still level at 1:01 to four points thanks to early scores from play from TJ Hunt and Evan Curry followed by two frees from TJ. We then suffered a further setback conceding another goal. TJ tacked on two more frees and a point from play to keep things competitive before disaster struck when we conceded two more goals to leave it 4:02 to 0:07 at half time.
The second half started brightly when we responded to their opening point with a penalty duly slotted home by TJ. We conceded a further goal but shortly afterwards won another penalty which was again converted by TJ. Further points from Michael Tierney and James Hunt and a goal from Donagh McEnery got us to within three points before they added a further point to win by four on a scoreline of 5:08 to 3:10.
TJ Hunt clocked up a very impressive 2:07 in this game however the five goals conceded proved to be too difficult to overcome in what was a very competitive game overall.
Our last game is scheduled for Saturday 16th at 2pm and is a must win home game against Ballysteen.
Team: A. Fogarty, E. Sheahan, H. O’Donnell, P.O’Brien, J. Hunt (0-01), C. Shine, , M. Fitzgerald, E. Curry(0-01), Tadhg Ahern. C. Thompson , TJ Hunt (2-07. 2 pens 4 frees), C. Buckley, J. Broderick, D. McEnery(1-00), Z. Behan Subs: C. Fitzgerald, L. Gleeson, M. Tierney (0–01), P. O Connor, A. Curry, G. Woulfe, M. McNamara, T. McEnery, S. McEnery, B. Hogan, R. Cleary.

Strength & Conditioning:
A group of our U18 footballers started a strength and conditioning programme last week in Dylan Griffin’s Gym on the Glin Road. The club is very grateful to Dylan for facilitating this programme.The participants will be shown how to use the gym equipment and weights in a proper and safe manner, in the supervised sessions. The off season is an ideal time for this work which will help to build strength, confidence and injury prevention.

Step to the Beat:
The final night of Step to the Beat for 2023 will take place Thursday evening from 7pm – 8pm. During this hour, music will play over our speaker system and those who attend will be free to walk/jog on our track with music playing in the background as a motivational factor and to beat the winter blues! Split the bucket entries can also be purchased during this hour. For the weeks in December, Christmas Music will play over the speaker system. We will then return in January for Operational Transformation.

Bord na nÓg Christmas Quiz:
Our annual Table Quiz will take place at Con Colbert Hall on December 28th from 7pm – 9pm, with doors open at 6.30pm. €10 per person. A raffle will also take place on the night.

Split the Bucket:
Congratulations to Teddy Sweeney, who was last week’s Split the Bucket winner, going home with the grand total of €596. The next draw will take place on Monday December 18th. Envelopes can be purchased at Dick Whites, Collins Shop, O’ Riordan’s Pharmacy, Athea Credit Union, Brown Joes, Batts, Bingo at Con Colbert Hall on Friday nights, Chinese Takeaway, Gables Grill and during events at Pairc na nGael. Thanks to everyone for your continued support.

Athea GAA AGM:
Our Annual General Meeting will take place on Sunday January 14th at 7.30pm at Con Colbert Memorial Hall. All members are invited to attend & new members are most welcome.

Club Draw:
The final draw of 2023 took place on Wednesday December 6th at the Club House. Congratulations to the following winners –
1st Prize €1000 – Connie Noonan – Seller Paddy Dalton
2nd Prize €100 – Jim & Bridie Ahern – Online
3rd Prize €100 – Hannah Mai & Jim Collins – Seller Kevin O’ Keeffe
4th Prize €100 – Kevin O’ Keeffe – Seller – Kevin O’ Keeffe.
Many thanks to all who purchased tickets and supported our draw in 2023.