72 Limerick GAA clubs drawn with greyhounds in Annie and Con Kirby Memorial:

By Jerome O’Connell Limerick Leader Sport

THE 2018 Con and Annie Kirby Memorial flies from the traps in Limerick this Saturday.

The competition, which offers €160,000 in prize money, begins with 72 greyhounds competing over 12 heats, with four to qualify from each heat for the second round.

Each greyhound has been assigned to a Limerick GAA club. The six finalist clubs will share a prize fund of €20,000, with €10,000 and a free fundraising night on offer to the winner.
Sponsored by Noreen and JP McManus in honour of her parents, Con and Annie Kirby – the competition has the biggest prize fund in Ireland after the Irish Greyhound Derby, with a total fund of €160,000.

Furthering the GAA involvement are a number of novel events – Banner Competition on March 24, Colouring Competition March 31, Cic and Puc Fada Competition on April 7, Race April 14, Mascot Parade April 21.

Heat 1: Blue East (Caherline), Rallying Saidso (Gerald Griffins), Burgess Brandy (Knockane), Newinn Blake (Patrickswell), Ballymac Lukaku (Pallasgreen), Macaroon Towser (Knockainey).

Heat 2: Chespirito (Granagh-Ballingarry Camogie), Burgess Paddy (Monagea), Knockbawn Rankin (Effin), Ballyregan Hope (Feenagh-Kilmeedy), Skywalker Tuco (Ahane), Crossfield Will (Newcastle West).

Heat 3: Lemon Shane (Ballybricken-Bohermore), Toolmaker Nica (Kilmallock), Tomahurra Chase (Glin), Hather Scout (Old Christians), Shelone Iso (Athea), Breffini Spartan (Rathkeale).

Heat 4: Pennys Koopa (Adare), Clonbrien Swift (Doon), Minor Mike (Granagh-Ballingarry), Deanridge Boffin (Hospital Handball), Master Jingles (Staker Wallace), Droopys Biker (Knockaderry).

Heat 5: LoughGur Danny (Patrickswell Camogie), Coolvanny Arkle (Caherconlish), Darrig Alainn (Croagh-Kilfinny), Bellmore Jagger (Kildimo-Pallaskenry), Uncle Wexford (Ballinacurra Gaels), Cliffords Pick (Mountcollins).

Heat 6: Varra Seamus (Fr Caseys), Slippy Cian (Fedamore), Cabraa Mikey (Oola), Clonbrien Prince (South Liberties), Music Toour Ears (Dromcollogher-Broadford), Cash Is King (Cappamore).

Heat 7: Da Head Hunter (Castletown-Ballyagran), Ballymac Padraig (Hospital-Herbertstown), Vedfield Showman (Croom), Ballycowen Jake (Camogue Rovers), Clounbrane Kerry (Ballysteen), Rocket Heart (Tournafulla).

Heat 8: Riverside Tiger (Adare Camogie), Nice Charmer (Kilteely-Dromkeen), Fahrenheit Daz (Abbey Sarsfields), Ardfert Carmac (Mungret St. Pauls Ladies Football), Dalcash Behold (Askeaton), Beaming Mix Up (Ballylanders).

Heat 9: Droopys Steel (Killeedy), Doggy McDogFace (Ballybrown), Windsor Pa (Feohanagh-Castlemahon), Pulgarcito (Blackrock), Boylesport Whiz (Monaleen), Bonus Point (Banogue).

Heat 10: Rural Brae (Crecora), Pennylane Masara (St Senans), Glanmire Dylan (St Kierans), HonTheHill (Mungret St Pauls), Lugs Branno (St Patricks), Greenhill Luke (Galbally).

Heat 11: Ower Boy Bullet (Na Piarsaigh), Toolmaker Maxwel (Murroe-Bother), Beaming Paradise (Claughaun), Blackmillershill (Galtee Gaels), Droopys Davy (Cappagh), Crossfield Yaya (Bruree),

Heat 12: Greenisle Athena (Dromin-Athlacca), Panther (Bruff), Macaroon Cruz (Templeglantine), Toolmaker Craig (Garryspillane), Riadas Nidge (Glenroe), Ballymac Twitter (St Senans Ladies Football).